Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe. It's a fall regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was absolutely delish! Wouldn't change a thing! Served with Maple Baked Pork Loin Roast, and roasted red potatoes... Was a definite hit for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I love this recipe! I did the apples and the squash separate. For the apples I coated them lightly with cinnamon and honey. I added a generous splash of OJ and baked until done. Scrape the 'meat' of the squash out and top with apples. I could not get my 4 year old to eat it unless is was removed from the 'shell'. Just a suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made some slight variations - used maple syrup instead of honey and added a dash of nutmeg. I mixed this with the chopped apples, filled the squash, and dotted the tops with butter. I also added a handful of chopped pecans. I was running short on time, so I put them in Pyrex dishes with a little water in the bottom and microwaved for 5 minutes before baking. My family looked askance at them ("this looks weird") when I served them with dinner, but after just one bite, they gobbled it up and said it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this exactly as directed (other than using a dairy-free butter substitute for my roommate) and it was fantastic. Added a sprinkle of nutmeg along with the cinnamon. It smells, looks, and tastes fantastic! I will definitely be making this as a side dish next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I stabbed about 6 slits into the squash and then microwaved it for 3 minutes to make it easier to cut open. I scooped out the seeds and placed each half, cut side down, in a bowl with about 2 inches of water in it. I microwaved each half seperately for 4 minutes. I cut up one gala apple, and added about 1/4 cup raisens. I added the butter/ honey mix and then covered it with foil and baked it for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, then took the foil off and baked for another 10 min. It cut the cooking time in half by using the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Just made this!! So delicious!! I used coconut oil in place of butter and was generous with the cinnamon. I cooked it at 450 for 20 min at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I really wasn't expecting the texture to be that different between the squash and apple but it turned out to compliment one another perfectly. I used a granny smith apple which I think was key because it added a little tartness. I poked holes in the squash flesh so the honey mixture could seep in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I thought this was a great way to make an Acorn Squash.Can't wait to use it with squash from my garden.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was great and I felt healthy eating it. I didn't peel the apple out of laziness but other than that I followed the recipe exactly, it's straightforward and easy and pretty tasty, although much more like a dessert than a veggie. One medium sized Granny Smith chopped up fit perfectly in the squash halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States