Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Thanks, I added extra butter and used 1 cup dates. I also doubled the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
It's ok. I thought the onion was too strong and didn't care for the flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved it! I have to echo the hesitation about the cheddar cheese, but I used less than was suggested and it really just added to the consistency, though I didn't taste much in the flavor. I used dried cranberries and honey instead of the brown sugar. Scooped out the majority of the squash and mixed with the apple mixture, just for ease. Was very happy with the result, even my friend who really doesn't like cheese was happy with it. Yummy vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. My only twist was adding some pepperoni to offset the sweetness and microwaving it to cut the cook time. Cut in half, seeded, 1.5 inches of water in a bowl and placed it cut side down. Used a fork and poked the skin a bit and 15-20 in the microwave. While it was cooking I prepped the rest and turned on the oven to 350. Once completed almost all the water had either absorbed or evaporated. I stuffed it and put it in the oven so that the cheese would melt. I saw some people mentioning that they were skeptical of the cheese, but it makes the dish gooey. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was great Everyone liked it. I did make a couple of changes - salted the squash when cooking, decreased the amount of brown sugar by half and made everything in the cassoral dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charles Morganti
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
loved it minus the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Morganti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Made it exactly as directed with only the addition of salt and pepper. In a word delicious. I love it, hubby loved it and our house guesst said "this is really good". I too was a little afraid of the cheese in this but that in my opinion put it over the top. Next time, and there will be a next time, I would cube the squash and serve it all in a bowl because a whole 1/2 of squash stuffed was alot and hard to eat with the peel on and trust me you want to gobble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
i liked this well enough, though i found it very sweet. my fiancé raved and loved it, so 5 stars from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Omited raisons , used cranberries. Cooked in oven not microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I didn't have any raisins and I don't put onions in veggies. But I did everything else as listed. Very good and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States