Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Loved this. I only had cran rasins so I used those and reduced the brown sugar. Yummy also I cut the half in half for a more reasonable serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
No changes necessary!! I ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
The author of this recipe states that they have it every year on Thanksgiving, and now I can see why. This is a very hearty and sweet dish that is also very filling and tasty. I do agree with others that this is on the sweeter end of things, however it pairs well with a spicy dish such as the Cherry Bomb Chicken recipe found on this site. I did make this recipe exactly as it is written, but for those of you looking for something a little less sweet I would suggest cutting back on the apple and adding some rice to the stuffing; this should help balance out some of the sweetness without taking too much away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
As written I'd give this 4 1/2 but that option isn't available and I don't think it's quite worth 5. The first time I made this I didn't change a thing but I didn't like the cheese on it. Normally, I love cheese on just about everything but it didn't fit with this recipe at all. The second time I subbed the raisins with dried cranberries, addex a little sea salt and omitted the cheese. Absolutely delicious. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Acorn squash is a veggie that cooks so well in the microwave which saves a ton of time and cost. I did it all except the cheese in the microwave, start with ten minutes, it may require a few more , then added the cheese and broiled for a few minutes. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My whole family agreed that if we just tossed some walnuts in the filling, it would be a perfect vegetarian entree. This was insanely good. I did use 1 cup of extra sharp block cheddar so I cannot attest to the "gooey" cheese binding, but otherwise I made it as directed. My husband kept eating the filling before I could even stuff the halves! I would have given it five stars, except that even on a lower setting and sharing the oven with a turkey, my squash did not take 40 minutes to cook so my end result was, for my taste, a little softer than I'd have liked. But the presentation was beautiful and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
My kids and husband loved it. My son is a picky eater when it comes to vegetables. I am making it again tonight. I used craisins instead of golden raisins because it was what I had on hand. I omitted the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Wonderful recipe… everyone loved it… I only used 2 acorn squash and I used 1/2 and 1/2 butter and evoo… I also used craisins instead of raisins… I also followed the suggestion to scoop out the squash and place in a casserole if serving a lot of people… and I added the nutmeg which someone else suggested… all in all.. this will be a staple in my recipe box… I made both parts ahead of time(except for the cheese) as we had to drive a long way and wanted to just get there and bake it… worked out great…mixed the topping with the cheese… placed it on top of the squash and baked… everyone raved…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I followed recipe exactly. We loved the texture of the filling but it was too sweet for us. I might add bacon and not add cinnamon or sugar next time as the raisins and apple provide enough sweetness for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Delicious, everyone raved about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States