Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Nothing says fall like apples and acorn squash. The apples and onions make a great flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CZAnna
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
At first I did not think that these ingredients of sweet and savory really went together, but it turned out sooooooo delicious. I did substitute raisins for dried cranberries and use whatever apples I had on hand. I also used natural unprocessed cane sugar rather than the brown sugar. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved this. I scraped it out of the squash mixed all and put in a baking dish and adjusted to just one acorn squash for my husband and I. Delicious. Also microwaved the squash for 10 minutes cut in half in 1/4 cup water. Saved time and scooped right out! Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I left out the raisins and added some parboiled beets to the apple mixture - it turns everything a beautiful colour and looks stunning against the squash! My husband, who generally hates veggie dishes, said this was one of his favourite foods of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was delicious. I only did one squash and reduced the recipe to about: 2 small empire apples 1 tsp brown sugar dash of cinnamon 1/4 c onion 1/4 cheese Next time I would add a little more chees and I think the filling would be great with a little sausage crumbled up in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this tonight and liked it very much. Next time, I would try it with buttercup squash for a more robust flavor. I served it with a grilled , marinated chicken breast. It would go nicely with a grilled steak with blue cheese crumbles to add some depth to the already wonderful fall favors. Baking time was a bit longer than the recipe called for in my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Not for us... this was dry however the "Apple-stuffed" tasted great over pork the next night, I took the squash out of the shell and mashed it with butter, brown sugar, etc. and made an excellent second meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinder92

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
So sorry...followed exact and my hubby and I and 13 year old did not like it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I thought the recipe was too much work for the end result - an okay taste. This is only the 3rd time I have ever prepared acorn squash for a meal because squash is just not my favorite, so perhaps the recipe is not the problem. Maybe my taste-buds are the problem! But here are my thoughts and observations using this recipe. I followed the recipe as written with a couple of exceptions. After 40 minutes of baking, my squash halves were still too hard, so I ended up baking them for 60 minutes total before the meat was soft enough to remove. I substituted Craisins for the raisins because that's what I had on hand. Another reviewer mentioned that the recipe might have been better with something crunchy included, so I added some pecans. The preparation took much longer than I expected, but just cutting the squash and removing seeds and strings took me 30 minutes. If I had a video of my squash cutting time I could send it to "America's Funniest Home Videos"! All I can say is that I'm very happy to still have 10 fingers! Another reviewer suggested microwaving the squash first to make them softer and easier to cut in half. I would definitely do that if I were to make this recipe again. In the end, I didn't much care for the taste. I ate it, but I kept thinking that my time could have better been spent making a different vegetable, and the calories could have gone toward something I enjoyed. No disrespect intended cksmom1. Most reviewers really liked the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Thanks, I added extra butter and used 1 cup dates. I also doubled the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States