Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving (we celebrate it in October in Canada!) and everyone really liked it! The only change I made was dried cranberries instead of raisins. The cinnamon and apple combination was yummy. It also reheats well if there are left overs, we made WAY too much food so I had a few halves left. I just threw some extra cheese on top and broiled it for a few minutes to brown the cheese and it was still delicious a few days after the dinner. My boyfriend even took it too work and ate it cold for lunch the next day and said it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikii Niiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was wonderful. I made it exactly according to the recipe, adjusted to 2 servings. My husband loves acorn squash, but I have never cared for it. Well, I loved this recipe, and he was positively ecstatic over it. This is the only way I will prepare acorn squash in the future, and he will get his favorite squash much more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I never made anything with acorn squash before and I was pleasantly surprised how great this was. I didn't have onions so I used leeks, and I added a dash of nutmeg. I also used Monterey Jack/ cheddar cheese and it was fantastic. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing. The only thing I changed was that I took the squash out and placed it in a baking dish. I made an indention in the center and placed the filling inside. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Amazing! If someone in the family doesn't like raisins then swap them out for dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My family was delighted with the squash! I made a few changes in technique. I salted the squash, as another reviewer suggested and also flipped the squash, so that the acorn "bowl" was in the water. I soaked the raisins in 1/2 cup of hot apple juice and then added the apple juice to the apple mixture. Also, I scooped the squash from the acorn and added it to the apple mixture. It was delicious. My brother was literally scraping his acorn "bowl".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was very good. It was my first attempt at any kind of acorn squash and I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't change the technique other than using the grill rather than the oven. We had a whole bag of golden delicious so I used one of those and since I don't like raisins, I used dried cranberries instead. This will be repeated for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
So good! I shared this recipe with another foodie friend and he'd already tried it and loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I didn't follow the recipe exactly because i used what i had on hand, but it turned out great and my husband liked it too! I used Rome apples, swiss cheese and no raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and very easy. I used a honey crisp apple because that is what I had on hand, as well as butter instead of margarine and I omitted the raisins. Was a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States