Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this was delicious. the cheese had me wondering, but it ended up making a gooey, tasty filling for the squash. only thing i will do different next time is to hit the squash with a bit of salt before i put the filling. great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My family was delighted with the squash! I made a few changes in technique. I salted the squash, as another reviewer suggested and also flipped the squash, so that the acorn "bowl" was in the water. I soaked the raisins in 1/2 cup of hot apple juice and then added the apple juice to the apple mixture. Also, I scooped the squash from the acorn and added it to the apple mixture. It was delicious. My brother was literally scraping his acorn "bowl".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing. The only thing I changed was that I took the squash out and placed it in a baking dish. I made an indention in the center and placed the filling inside. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yummy. I added bacon bits! Tricky part was separating the rind and the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
very good , used apple smoked cheddar and omitted the raisins,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
i liked this well enough, though i found it very sweet. my fiancé raved and loved it, so 5 stars from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was very good. It was my first attempt at any kind of acorn squash and I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't change the technique other than using the grill rather than the oven. We had a whole bag of golden delicious so I used one of those and since I don't like raisins, I used dried cranberries instead. This will be repeated for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. My only twist was adding some pepperoni to offset the sweetness and microwaving it to cut the cook time. Cut in half, seeded, 1.5 inches of water in a bowl and placed it cut side down. Used a fork and poked the skin a bit and 15-20 in the microwave. While it was cooking I prepped the rest and turned on the oven to 350. Once completed almost all the water had either absorbed or evaporated. I stuffed it and put it in the oven so that the cheese would melt. I saw some people mentioning that they were skeptical of the cheese, but it makes the dish gooey. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I left out the raisins and added some parboiled beets to the apple mixture - it turns everything a beautiful colour and looks stunning against the squash! My husband, who generally hates veggie dishes, said this was one of his favourite foods of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved it! I have to echo the hesitation about the cheddar cheese, but I used less than was suggested and it really just added to the consistency, though I didn't taste much in the flavor. I used dried cranberries and honey instead of the brown sugar. Scooped out the majority of the squash and mixed with the apple mixture, just for ease. Was very happy with the result, even my friend who really doesn't like cheese was happy with it. Yummy vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States