Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this was delicious. the cheese had me wondering, but it ended up making a gooey, tasty filling for the squash. only thing i will do different next time is to hit the squash with a bit of salt before i put the filling. great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
very good , used apple smoked cheddar and omitted the raisins,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing. The only thing I changed was that I took the squash out and placed it in a baking dish. I made an indention in the center and placed the filling inside. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My family was delighted with the squash! I made a few changes in technique. I salted the squash, as another reviewer suggested and also flipped the squash, so that the acorn "bowl" was in the water. I soaked the raisins in 1/2 cup of hot apple juice and then added the apple juice to the apple mixture. Also, I scooped the squash from the acorn and added it to the apple mixture. It was delicious. My brother was literally scraping his acorn "bowl".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was very good. It was my first attempt at any kind of acorn squash and I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't change the technique other than using the grill rather than the oven. We had a whole bag of golden delicious so I used one of those and since I don't like raisins, I used dried cranberries instead. This will be repeated for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
So good! I shared this recipe with another foodie friend and he'd already tried it and loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
It tastes like Apple meets Pumpkin Pie!! Loved this!! I was unsure of this given the mix of ingredients but it is different and delicious! My only change was to use Carnival Squash ( looks like a mini pie pumpkin) that I microwaved for about 8 minutes so that I could slice through it easily and without injury and then followed the rest of the recipe ( I always pierce and microwave winter squash before cutting/slicing). I cannot wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This recipe gave me a good base to make the stuffing. I have used red apples or Asian pears as a substitute. I also have used both fresh or dried cranberries for the stuffing compote instead of raisins, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yummy. I added bacon bits! Tricky part was separating the rind and the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving (we celebrate it in October in Canada!) and everyone really liked it! The only change I made was dried cranberries instead of raisins. The cinnamon and apple combination was yummy. It also reheats well if there are left overs, we made WAY too much food so I had a few halves left. I just threw some extra cheese on top and broiled it for a few minutes to brown the cheese and it was still delicious a few days after the dinner. My boyfriend even took it too work and ate it cold for lunch the next day and said it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States