Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
As written I'd give this 4 1/2 but that option isn't available and I don't think it's quite worth 5. The first time I made this I didn't change a thing but I didn't like the cheese on it. Normally, I love cheese on just about everything but it didn't fit with this recipe at all. The second time I subbed the raisins with dried cranberries, addex a little sea salt and omitted the cheese. Absolutely delicious. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Acorn squash is a veggie that cooks so well in the microwave which saves a ton of time and cost. I did it all except the cheese in the microwave, start with ten minutes, it may require a few more , then added the cheese and broiled for a few minutes. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My whole family agreed that if we just tossed some walnuts in the filling, it would be a perfect vegetarian entree. This was insanely good. I did use 1 cup of extra sharp block cheddar so I cannot attest to the "gooey" cheese binding, but otherwise I made it as directed. My husband kept eating the filling before I could even stuff the halves! I would have given it five stars, except that even on a lower setting and sharing the oven with a turkey, my squash did not take 40 minutes to cook so my end result was, for my taste, a little softer than I'd have liked. But the presentation was beautiful and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
My kids and husband loved it. My son is a picky eater when it comes to vegetables. I am making it again tonight. I used craisins instead of golden raisins because it was what I had on hand. I omitted the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Wonderful recipe… everyone loved it… I only used 2 acorn squash and I used 1/2 and 1/2 butter and evoo… I also used craisins instead of raisins… I also followed the suggestion to scoop out the squash and place in a casserole if serving a lot of people… and I added the nutmeg which someone else suggested… all in all.. this will be a staple in my recipe box… I made both parts ahead of time(except for the cheese) as we had to drive a long way and wanted to just get there and bake it… worked out great…mixed the topping with the cheese… placed it on top of the squash and baked… everyone raved…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I followed recipe exactly. We loved the texture of the filling but it was too sweet for us. I might add bacon and not add cinnamon or sugar next time as the raisins and apple provide enough sweetness for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Delicious, everyone raved about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I used a vidalia onion and omitted the raisins. I also added a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. My husband said it was the BEST squash he had ever eaten, and his mom was a wonderful Italian cook! Will Definetely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Followed directions. Used butter. Used a striped sweet squash, similar size to a acorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used regular raisins and a red delicious apple since that is what I had. I microwaved the cut squash with some water in the baking dish for about 15 min, and was able to scoop much of the flesh out to mix in with the rest. My husband thought this tasted like apple pie. I thought it was good enough to use again if our neighbor presents us with another acorn squash(like in this case), but I don't think I would seek it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States