Apple Streusel Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I didn't have biscuit baking mix. For the topping, I just used plain flour. In the apple mixture I used 1 cup flour + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1/2 tsp salt. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg in the apple mixture (I really like nutmeg) and for used pecans for the nuts in the topping. I suspect the topping tasted better with the plain flour than it would have with the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this in 8" round pans and it turned out great. It was a hit at work and was pretty simple to put together (once I got all those apples peeled!) I also made this recipe with a tad more dry ingredients as a birthday cake for a friend which turned out perfect in a cheesecake tin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good. Really sweet. Due to high sugar/fat content I recommend using low fat condensed milk and margarine instead of butter. But I made it as it and it was really good. Just heat the left overs up in the microwave for a fresh baked feel. My husband even liked this and he doesn't like anything 'mushy'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Hi! I live in Italy and there is no biscuit baking mix... what can I use instead? Thanks. Paula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This sounds excellent and easy! The fat can easily be reduced by using a low fat butter spread (i.e. Smart Balance).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I'm sure this is good, it should be. Let's see...9 inch pan, 8 servings; 1 piece, (that is pretty small) and a whopping 600 calories and 30 grams of fat!! No thanks. I am so glad Allrecipes supplies the Nutritional Information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very Good. Used apples from our tree. Only change I made was adding a 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. Served warm with whipped cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmoreland98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very easy to make and it was very good. I omitted the nuts. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Great recipe! I didn't put the nuts on though, still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States