Apple Streusel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Tried this with a savoury pie crust and it was wonderful. Added more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom) and added raisins as suggested in another comment to add more kick. Next time however I will reduce the amount of sugar in filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yum yum! Apple pie is my favorite dessert so I'm always on the hunt for a good apple pie recipe. I only made one pie but used the full amount of streusel for one pie. Since my apples were very juicy I used 3 tablespoons of flour and apple pie spice for the cinnamon since I had it. I also added a dash of salt to the apples and to the topping since salt brings out flavors. Mine had to bake about 10 minutes longer since I had a deep dish pie. Very delicious and I plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I sized this down to making 1 pie and it was perfect. The crunch of the streusel was excellent. I made the streusel without the pecans but only added them after I mixed the butter, brown sugar and flour together, then stored in the fridge until I finished the other steps. Then after it baked, I drizzled caramel sauce over the top and everyone was happy happy. TY I will totally make again. Best way to eat an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Great recipe!!! Next time I will make a little extra streusel topping to make it a little sweeter and so it will have a little extra crunch!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe is simply wonderful!!! Have used this same recipe before from this site, and my husband has been driving me insane. I do adjust the topping recipe automatically to make twice as much so both pies are fully covered. but that is absolutely no problem. thank you for sharing this recipe. sure to be a favorite at church and family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Loved the streusel topping!!! One of the best apple pies I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was very easy to make. I read the reviews and used a bit extra of flour and it set up very well. I also substituted walnuts for pecans. The entire family loved it and I will definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Best apple I have ever cooked or eaten! Made a deep dish with 1 1/2 times recipe and added cinnamon to apples and topping. Pecans are a wonderful touch. It is much easier to pinch topping with fingers versus using a pastry blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is easy to make and very tasty! The only thing I did different the 2nd time I made it was to add a top crust and put the struesel over the top instead of the apples themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love when I need to use up things and it still turns out great! This recipie is so easy to modify. I only wanted to make 1 pie but forgot to less'n the streusel portion (that's what happends when I try to multi task). I used 3 differnt types of apples and 1 pear. A graham cracker crust and since I had lots so the streusel I put half the filling in, a layer of streusel, and the rest of the apple mixture and then topped with the remaining streusel. YUMMY! The pie was gone before I had a chance for 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States