Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was just okay. a 9x13 dish was too big. The bars were too thin, and fell apart easily.There also seemed to be too much sugar and cinnamon on top. The flavor was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
We really liked these squares. I used white whole wheat and sucanat sugar, in place of the flour and brown and white sugars. Really good and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I don't think I've ever been more pleased with a new recipe! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular ~ because that's all I use ~ and doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 inch cake pan, as others have. I have a 16 year old son who's IMPOSSIBLE and won't eat nuts in anything, so I decided to forgo the walnuts and added extra apple ~ for the doubled recipe, I used 1 and 1/2 cups Fuji apples (GREAT this year here in MI). I was also out of cinnamon, so I used 1/8 teaspoon cloves and 1/2 teaspoon ginger instead. And I used just a tablespoon of white sugar with a couple of pinches of cloves and ginger sprinkled on top before baking. WOW! My son LOVES it! I LOVE it! When you can tweak a recipe and have the result turn out amazingly, the recipe in itself is great. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Not my favorite, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Became a favourite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliom Vizy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really good and very easy to put together. Thank you for taking the time to share with all of us who readily go onto this site to find something good to make and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
A HIT!! I made this last night. I doubled the recipe & one pan is mostly gone. My family loves it!! I left the nuts out and shredded the apples. I also reduced the sugar. Next time I may include raisins, pumpkin or cranberries (it is the season)! Will definitely make with different types of apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dre Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
These were pretty good. Like many other reviewers I doubled the recipe (except for the topping) and threw in about 2.5 cups of chopped apples. The bars got a little darker than I thought they would and I was afraid I'd overcooked them but they taste good. I will make these again. DH is plowing through his 4th one right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I'm challenged when it comes to cooking, but have to say that this recipe was awesome. I followed it, but doubled it. The house smelled wonderful and the squares are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
These were delicious. I halved the sugar, skipped the nuts, and shredded the apple (about 1/2 an apple). Next time I'll try half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour. I'll definitely be making these again. I almost always have these ingredients on hand and they were fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States