Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I can't rate this on the exact recipe. I read a lot of reviews for this and tried my best to follow their suggestions. Many suggested to double the recipe except for the sugars. Now, little fact, I always half recipes when I first try them out. I don't want to waste my ingredients for a failure you know? So Instead, I used the regular recipe and decreased the sugars from 1/2 cup to 1/3 (i am sure many hear would suggest 1/4 but I have a giant sweet tooth) and double the apples from 1/2 cup to a whole one. That is what I did. Now, I was expecting more of an apple crumble consistency, this was more of a cake. But as the recipe is, it is delicious. I made these for my mom and her friends and they loved it. I made these along side with some very tasty lemon bars (also from this site) and these ran out quick. They said the apples were baked perfectly and it was just the right amount of sweetness.They bashfully reached for seconds and thirds and I was very happy they enjoyed. I liked them as well and will definitely reach for this recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
It is really dense but still amazing. Mine seemed to take a bit longer than 30 minutes. It was probably closer to 40 minutes and could have easily baked another ten or so more. It just seems to have a really soft fall apart texture otherwise. Will totally make again though as it was really yummy. Made exactly as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My Dad loved these apple squares, so he would give them a 5 stars, I thought they really needed vanilla ice cream with them, which I didn't have, they are very sweet, I thought they were going to be more chewy, but mine were more cake like. If I make again, I will tried and tweet it so they will be more chewy. I also had gala apples which I added a large tablespoon of lemon juice to them after I cut them up and stirred it up to make them tart tasting. I also only lightly covered them with cinnamon sugar like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Looks like I am in the minority. So disappointed and very carefully follwed recipe but cut back on sugar a little because otherwise too sweet for us. Even added about 2 tbsp. of apple juice because the mixture seemed dry and doubled up on apples. The end product still tasted doughy and dry and certainly not moist as I had hoped it would be. Sorry but will not try again because many many more apple recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Didn't have nuts on hand so made it without. Also, as per other suggestions, didn't add the sugar or cinnamon on top. Used about 3 cups of apples and it was amazing! Moist, just sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These were decent, they need more apples though. Ill double the apples next time. Ill also decrease the baking time so they'll be more moist. thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Amazing! Got lots of compliments at work with this one. Tastes like apple pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Excellent recipe! Loved it very much! Will definitely keep in my box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
SO great. Don't use the topping it calls for, make a crumble using brown sugar, melted butter, flour, vanilla, salt and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul-Sauce
Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States