Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cannot say enough about how great these are with minor modifications. I always double to a 9x13, but the pan is lucky to last a day in our house. I cut the sugar by half and double the apples. A winner for our family of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! The topping seemed like A LOT so I left about a Tbs of it out. I think mine turned out perfect...very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Wow! We love these bars. We left out the walnuts and put in 1 1/2 cups of apples and they were fantastic. I think next time I will make a double batch and cook in a jelly roll pan - that way they will stay around a little longer, because they go quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I found these squares very sweet.But very good. Next time I cut the sugars back to a 1/4 cup. best apple squares ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were great! I doubled the recipe, except for topping and omitted walnuts, for a 9x13 but added a heaping 2 cups of apples, per reviews. Normally I would make a recipe as-is the first time, but 1 cup of apples didn't seem like enough. Definitely making again, and except for chopping the apples, it took no time at all to make. I want to try drizzling with either caramel or a powdered sugar glaze next time and using applesauce in place of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I had high hopes for these. I followed the reviews, doubled for a 9x13 pan, reduced sugar, added more apples, didn't double the topping. It smelled wonderful but it was very dry. I don't think I baked it too long because I thought the batter seemed dryish when I was spreading it in the pan. My son-in-law thought they were great, and they did taste okay, but the texture was dry and crumbly. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yummy! I reduced the sugars to 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown, and increased the apples to 2.25 cups. I also skipped the cinnamon sugar topping. Everyone loved it! And with less sugar and more fruit, it was healthy enough for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have made these bars with apples, raspberries and gooseberries, and I wouldn't recommend substituting the apples. The apple version was great, the others tasted funny. I'd recommend replacing at least half the all-purpose flour with whole-wheat flour and reducing the white sugar. I also found that toasting the chopped nuts before adding them to the mixture makes the bars more flavorful. Good recipe, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Well, I wanted to love these, but just thought they were ok. Let me say that I did like the taste overall. The problem was like some other reviewers, Mine did not come out like bars. After cooling in pan as directed I found the outsides to be a harder consistency and the inside to be a bit too moist and gooey. Possibly if I had cooked them a bit longer, but then I fear the outside would have been too hard. Too bad because the taste was good, but I needed them to serve in bars as finger food, not on a plate with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Lombardo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Super-simple recipe to make. I had apples that needed to be used up and came across this recipe. I doubled it and put it in a 13 x 9 pan. I made half the pan with the nuts and the other half without. Both sides were equally enjoyed. Nice and moist with a crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 989) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States