Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Always a hit when I serve this. I usually substitute half the white flour for whole wheat. The kids don't notice a thing. Warning - this is very sweet, particularly if you are using sweet apples, like Gala. Still it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
over all was good but not at all like pictured. it was hard to cut into squares which is what I needed for a school function :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I made this recipe as is (but added a few more apples)and it was amazing! I took them to work and now people are offering to pay me to make them more lol They're a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love this recipe, I tweaked it a bit, added 2 cups of apples vs. the 1/2 cup, skipped the nuts, cut the sugars in half, doubled the cinnamon, and my topping was a tbls. of butter, 3 tsp. of cinnamon. 1 tbls. of brown sugar, and a handful of quick oats, mashed with a fork and sprinkle on top, ok, I guess I tweaked it a lot lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Yummy. I double up on the apples and these are good served warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Pretty good. I had to sub walnuts for pecans because that's all I had. I wish I had a kitchen blow torch to melt the cinnamon/sugar topping just to see how it turned out but the topping was fine the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Exquisite. I added a couple tablespoons of unsweetened apples sauce. One of my favorite deserts by far. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassondraLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe is delicious! However I wouldn't exactly it healthy with amount of sugar in it but my husband loved them. I used gala apples but will probably try Granny Smith or Macintosh with a sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I can't rate this on the exact recipe. I read a lot of reviews for this and tried my best to follow their suggestions. Many suggested to double the recipe except for the sugars. Now, little fact, I always half recipes when I first try them out. I don't want to waste my ingredients for a failure you know? So Instead, I used the regular recipe and decreased the sugars from 1/2 cup to 1/3 (i am sure many hear would suggest 1/4 but I have a giant sweet tooth) and double the apples from 1/2 cup to a whole one. That is what I did. Now, I was expecting more of an apple crumble consistency, this was more of a cake. But as the recipe is, it is delicious. I made these for my mom and her friends and they loved it. I made these along side with some very tasty lemon bars (also from this site) and these ran out quick. They said the apples were baked perfectly and it was just the right amount of sweetness.They bashfully reached for seconds and thirds and I was very happy they enjoyed. I liked them as well and will definitely reach for this recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
It is really dense but still amazing. Mine seemed to take a bit longer than 30 minutes. It was probably closer to 40 minutes and could have easily baked another ten or so more. It just seems to have a really soft fall apart texture otherwise. Will totally make again though as it was really yummy. Made exactly as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States