Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Awesome! I did use more than a half cup of apples and I also added a little all spice and nutmeg and then I drizzled caramel on top after they were cooked. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Delicious as written--such an awesome recipe--gone in thirty seconds! It doesn't fill the 9x9 pan--I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I quadrupled the recipe except for the topping and baked in 3 square 8 in pans. I also increased the amount of apples like other reviewers did. I used 6 Gala apples total. I don't care for apple desserts, but these were phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silver
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I took the advice of several other reviewers and doubled everything but the topping and baked it in a 9x13" pan. I am glad I didn't double the topping. As it was, I used only half of it, as it would've been overwhelmingly cinnamon-y if I'd used it all (I just sprinkled it on until the top was totally covered and then stopped). I had no walnuts so I used pecans instead and they worked great! I think I might prefer them to walnuts in this recipe, actually. It might be a little dough-y and chewy, but I think that's how it is supposed to be. I don't get the idea that this is meant to be a cake. It looks and tastes like an apple pan cookie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Amazing! I used half the sugar and they were still very sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great taste I used nutmeg & allspice mixed it with my chopped apples and a little brown sugar too, I doubled the apples it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Amazing! I added 1 cup of apples. For the topping, I used 1 tbsp cinnamon & 2 tbsp sugar. Très délicieux! Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Yummy! I followed the review of momtoktl. I doubled the recipe, used 3/4c each sugar, 2 apples, no nuts, topped with only 1T sugar and 1t cinnamon, baked in 9x13 for 30 minutes. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Made it minus the nuts and they are amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Always a hit when I serve this. I usually substitute half the white flour for whole wheat. The kids don't notice a thing. Warning - this is very sweet, particularly if you are using sweet apples, like Gala. Still it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 915) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States