Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Here are few tips that I learn from doing that recipe. First, I tripled most of the recipe, except for the topping. I baked it into big rectangular corning ware dish (about 16" x 9). I added a touch of almond extract. It gives it a nice taste. When baked, I topped it with a touch of icing sugar. It looked great. DO NOT over cook. I baked them for 30-35 minutes. These squares are better when they are moist. Do as the recipe says. Do not use a toothpick to judge if bake or not as it will come out as if it was not baked. Hope this help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
671 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I took these to work and everyone loved them! I doubled the recipe and baked them in a 9X13 pan instead so they were thicker, more like cake. I also used less brown sugar than it called for (because I ran out) and substituted with extra white sugar, and I used pecans instead of walnuts. It turned out great! The only thing I would do differently--if doubling the recipe in one pan again, I wouldn't double the cinnamon sugar topping because there was way too much. I used it all and when the bars were picked up, tons fell off---mostly sugar, leaving a VERY strong cinnamon taste, probably more than many people would want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Just made these this afternoon and the kids had already eaten half the pan before the bars finished cooling! These are really tasty. I doubled the recipe (but I cut down BOTH sugars to approx. 3/4c each) and increased the apples to 2 large chopped apples (just over 2c). Left out the nuts. The bars were still sweet enough and don't require any frosting (although the caramel drizzle one reviewer suggested would be delish). Did not double the cinn/sugar topping. Baked in 9x13 pan for 33 minutes. My daughter said to save this recipe and we'll definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I didn't try these so I have to write this review based on Hubs' report. He said these were the kind of thing he could eat till he got sick on they were that good. Five stars, he said, and better than his all-time favorite butterscotch cookies. Wow! I used Granny Smith apple, left out the nuts at his request and glazed them (right on top of the cinnamon sugar topping) with a butterscotch glaze I kind of just threw together as an experiment: 2 T. each of butter, brown sugar and cream, boiled for a couple of minutes, added about 1/2 tsp. vanilla, then more cream and powdered sugar till desired consistency. These are chewy, subtley cinnamony and appley with a butterscotch finish (his words, not mine). Definitely a make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I have to say that with a little bit of this and a little less of that. This was the most incredible apple cake we have ever had. My husband who is very picky couldn't stop talking about it. He said it kicked but!!!! I added 2 cups of apples and only a 1/4 cup of sugar. I also added a 1/4 cup of apple juice. It was so moist it melted in your mouth. I also made a creamcheese topping to spread on top. OH MY GOSH!!!! You can get the creamcheese topping from this website as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I made this recipe 3 times in the last couple of days. I had bought apples in bulk and needed to use them. I made 2 recipes with a 9x9 pan, cutting both sugars down to less than 1/2 cup each. The first time, I used 1 cup of apples but the next time, I used 1 1/2 full apples and I liked it better with more apples. With more apples, the squares are more moist and cakey. I also made a batch in a 9x13 pan -- I doubled the recipe, used 3/4 cup of each sugar, used 2 1/2 full apples, and baked for 33 minutes. No need to double the sugar topping. Delicious! And I had all the ingredients in my pantry already. This is going to be one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I have made these several times now and thought that it was about time that I put my review in. These are wonderful!! Everytime that I make them they disappear quickly. I use 1 and a 1/2 times the recipe and bake in a 13'X 9' pan. Then I put a carmel glaze drizzled over the top. Just put powdered sugar (about 1/2 to 3/4 Cup)in a small bowl with enough milk to make a semi-thin glaze and stir a couple of tablespoonsfull of the carmel used for dipping apples etc.(Found in the produce section of your market). Drizzle over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Really moist and gooey. I doubled the recipe too, except for the sugar and cinnamon topping. For the sugar, I used only 1 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar and it was plenty sweet. Next time, I think I'll add about 1/2 cup apple juice for more apple flavor and tang. I will also use Granny Smith and double the apples. I used a braeburn apple this time and the flavor was too flat. I doubled the recipe but still used a 9x9 dish and baked exactly 40 min. Like a gooey coffee cake. Just make sure to cool completely before cutting since the cake is so moist. Will make again. (I gave only 4 star since it wasn't 100% perfect. Doubling the apples is a must!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
Moist and chewy just like brownies! So yummy and easy to make that I baked these two days in a row for both daughters' school apple festivals. Had to up the cooking time by 10 minutes. Sprinkled with powdered sugar to make it look more attractive. Brought home empty plates both nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
These were so GOOD. They didn't last very long at the school surprise that I made them for. I followed the recipe exactly and they were great. We did make small portions and they were very sweet....but really great. Thanks for a new treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 915) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States