Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe once and loved it so much, that I quadrupled the recipe and made it again the next day. The second time, I subtracted just about a fourth of a cup from both sugars and used more apples than the recipe did (2 whole large apples). I also just sprinkled the sugar cinnamon topping to what looked about right; the recipe called for too much. Then I bought some caramel ice cream topping and drizzled it on top. EXCELLENT. It came out even better this second time. I shared it with everyone I could and they are all asking me when I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
As a personal preference, I made it without any nuts. When I make this again, I'll put a whole cup of apple in (it seemed like coffeecake, not apple) and decrease the topping. About 50% of the topping "stuck" to the batter, the other just falls off after it was baked. With those changes, perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Very good! I used oats instead of walnuts and made one-and-a-half times the recipe in a 9x13 pan - I think doubling it and using a 9x13 would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Really tasty. Made them with gluten free baking mix and coconut sugar instead of brown sugar - amazingly good, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Really moist and flavorful. A great fall dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Just kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
These are great! I followed some other reviews and doubled the recipe, only using 3/4 cup of the sugars. I only had one egg, so I substituted the other egg with 1/4 cup applesauce. I had no walnuts, so I used raisins instead. I used an ice cream scoop to fill my muffin tin and baked for about 15 mins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was "OK" but not great. Too much sugar topping, for one thing. Overall pretty bland. Nothing I or family members would have trouble resisting or anything. Sorry, but when I am going to splurge on treats they better be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Amazing! Took this to work and everyone fell in love. I doubled everything, but only used 3/4 cup of both white and brown sugars. Baked at 350 for 28 minutes. I also added nutmeg to both the batter and sugar topping. Drizzled with caramel and a powdered sugar icing (which I made with caramel macchiato coffee creamer instead of milk). I will never make pie again :) This was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I doubled it and used a 9x13. It seems too small a recipe for a 9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States