Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wow! They turned out just as I was hoping they would. I made this last night, I save one square for my husband lunch. He told me they are even better the second day. It's hard to believe because they are so good! I am going to make them again. I made as is today I'm going to try a oatmeal strudel topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
While these were good, they aren't really anything to write home about. I left off the sugar/cinnamon topping because the batter was all ready extremely sweet. I might make them again sometime but not anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are AMAZING! I read the less positive reviews first and was a bit hesitant on this recipe, but I followed exactly except for leaving out the nuts and doubling the apples (due to allergies). Absolutely perfect! They haven't completely cooled on the counter yet and they're 1/3 gone! Thanks for the fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We absolutely loved this!! I've made it three times over the past week. I tripled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan, added a splash of almond extract and made an oatmeal topping instead of cinnamon sugar. It's amazing either way we just like oatmeal on top. Also, I cut down both sugars by half and it was plenty sweet enough for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious! My family ate them all in one evening. I followed other reviewers' advice and added a lot more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cannot say enough about how great these are with minor modifications. I always double to a 9x13, but the pan is lucky to last a day in our house. I cut the sugar by half and double the apples. A winner for our family of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! The topping seemed like A LOT so I left about a Tbs of it out. I think mine turned out perfect...very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Wow! We love these bars. We left out the walnuts and put in 1 1/2 cups of apples and they were fantastic. I think next time I will make a double batch and cook in a jelly roll pan - that way they will stay around a little longer, because they go quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I found these squares very sweet.But very good. Next time I cut the sugars back to a 1/4 cup. best apple squares ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were great! I doubled the recipe, except for topping and omitted walnuts, for a 9x13 but added a heaping 2 cups of apples, per reviews. Normally I would make a recipe as-is the first time, but 1 cup of apples didn't seem like enough. Definitely making again, and except for chopping the apples, it took no time at all to make. I want to try drizzling with either caramel or a powdered sugar glaze next time and using applesauce in place of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States