Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Yum! I pulled this out of the oven about 30 minutes ago and just tried a bit! It was so moist it melted in my mouth! I couldn't stop with just one bite, even though I was just planning on a small taste since I am taking it elsewhere! . I tripled the batch and used only 1 cup each of the sugars. I actually only had one egg and had a bit of a panic until I remembered flaxseed is an egg substitute! Perfect! I used 2 HUGE Granny Smith apples and one small gala, which was probably around 3 cups. I filled a 9 x 13 and an 8x8 and threw them in the oven. They cooked 30 minutes and sprang back perfectly. I will absolutely be using this recipe again and again!! I only wish the whole batch was for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
always turn out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Really good!!! Never last the day in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I followed the recipe as written. Was a big hit in my house. Very easy to prepare and tasted great warm with a small scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt. Added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiki

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
These are unbelievable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Great recipe! As previously suggested, I doubled the recipe except for the topping. Left out nuts and added a dash of almond extract. Baked at 350F for 33 minutes in a clay 9x13. It was delicious! Might add coconut next time for some more texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Well, must say first off that I failed when making this recipe. To start off with I didn't have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8x8. (That was mistake number one.) I didn't have brown sugar, so I used a cup of white. (That actually worked)I mixed it all as instructed and baked it. It came out looking great! (Apart from the fact that the cinnamon/sugar mixture on top just looked like raw cinnamon and sugar on top.)The middle sunk a little after cooling.So this is where my fail actually takes place. I envisioned a nice bubbly crust on top, kinda like you might see on a nice creme brule (sp?) Well not having a food grade blow torch I turn on the broiler and set the apple bars in. I stood there knowing it shouldn't take long. After a few minutes I open the oven to find FLAMES!!! I snatch out the flaming apple goodness and blow it out FAST. I stand there staring at what looks like a charcoal briquet. My heart has sunk to my toes. I decide to try and pick off the scorched top and was happy to find it was just the cinnamon/sugar mixture that was ruined!! The rest just turned out to taste like a nice moist apple cake. It tasted really good! If not for my total failure it may have just tasted great! I think I will try this recipe again without catching it on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Deitsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
These squares have been a big hit!!. I have made them several times. They stay moist and fresh for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I doubled everything it turend out great so yummy ,everyone loved it but ill cut down the sugar next time its a little bit sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States