Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We absolutely loved this!! I've made it three times over the past week. I tripled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan, added a splash of almond extract and made an oatmeal topping instead of cinnamon sugar. It's amazing either way we just like oatmeal on top. Also, I cut down both sugars by half and it was plenty sweet enough for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious! My family ate them all in one evening. I followed other reviewers' advice and added a lot more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cannot say enough about how great these are with minor modifications. I always double to a 9x13, but the pan is lucky to last a day in our house. I cut the sugar by half and double the apples. A winner for our family of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! The topping seemed like A LOT so I left about a Tbs of it out. I think mine turned out perfect...very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Wow! We love these bars. We left out the walnuts and put in 1 1/2 cups of apples and they were fantastic. I think next time I will make a double batch and cook in a jelly roll pan - that way they will stay around a little longer, because they go quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I found these squares very sweet.But very good. Next time I cut the sugars back to a 1/4 cup. best apple squares ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were great! I doubled the recipe, except for topping and omitted walnuts, for a 9x13 but added a heaping 2 cups of apples, per reviews. Normally I would make a recipe as-is the first time, but 1 cup of apples didn't seem like enough. Definitely making again, and except for chopping the apples, it took no time at all to make. I want to try drizzling with either caramel or a powdered sugar glaze next time and using applesauce in place of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I had high hopes for these. I followed the reviews, doubled for a 9x13 pan, reduced sugar, added more apples, didn't double the topping. It smelled wonderful but it was very dry. I don't think I baked it too long because I thought the batter seemed dryish when I was spreading it in the pan. My son-in-law thought they were great, and they did taste okay, but the texture was dry and crumbly. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yummy! I reduced the sugars to 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown, and increased the apples to 2.25 cups. I also skipped the cinnamon sugar topping. Everyone loved it! And with less sugar and more fruit, it was healthy enough for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have made these bars with apples, raspberries and gooseberries, and I wouldn't recommend substituting the apples. The apple version was great, the others tasted funny. I'd recommend replacing at least half the all-purpose flour with whole-wheat flour and reducing the white sugar. I also found that toasting the chopped nuts before adding them to the mixture makes the bars more flavorful. Good recipe, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 921) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States