Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These were very good; slightly chewy and moist in the middle. I must say though, there was WAY too much sugar/cinnamon on the top. After they were done cooking the sugar/cinnamon mixture was still sitting on the top so I had to shake it all off. Even after doing that there was ample cinnamon flavour. I would recommend using 1/2 the topping mixture, or even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Doubled recipe for 9x13 pan. Used 2 1/2 c. Chopped apples and did not double sugar topping. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These bars were delicious!! I cut back on sugar a little bit because of so many reviews talking about how sweet they were. They turned out perfectly, although there was a little bit too much sugar on top of the bars. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Wow! This was a great recipe for people who don't have or want to use a mixer. Easy to put together and delicious flavors upon completion. This will go into my "keeper" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
In all fairness, I was unable to rate this based on the exact recipe as given due to an extreme number of food intolerances in my 10 yo, but with all of the adjustments I did for this, it turned out wonderful! I might tweek it some, but I think it was because of my adjustments, not the original, or it wouldn't have turned out as great as it did! It was devoured in an afternoon! fyi, here were my adjustments: replaced flour with gluten-free mix of flours, replaced baking powder with 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1/4 tsp cream of tartar (corn intol. so no baking powder 'cause it uses cornstarch), replaced butter w/melted palm oil "ethical" veg shortening ('cause dairy intol), and replaced egg with 1 T flax see and 3 T water (egg intol). Also added 3/4 tsp xanthum gum and 1/4 tsp baking soda due to use of gf flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
good but way too sweet & i cut the sugar down to 3/4 C total!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Love this! I made almost as directed, just reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup each, because reviewers saying it was to sweet. I also used 2 Peaches instead of apples because that is all i had, and instead of the cinnamon/ sugar mix on top I made a crumb topping that I found on this website. Turned out great and I like that I can use other fruit and it turn out just as good! Definetly a Must-Try recipe!! Thanks BarbiAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I followed the directions (and ingredient quantities) exactly as written and after cooling in the pan, had a big gooey mess. Nothing like 'cake' at all! The 'goo' was way too sweet so not even like a good apple crisp. Very disappointing after seeing all the rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
These turned out great. I used 1/2 c whole wheat flour & 1/2 c white flour then added just a bit of apple juice. I think next time I'll cut down on the sugar just a bit. My picky 4 yr old loves them! I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Eliminated the walnuts since we have a nut allergy. Tasted great! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States