Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These were really good and full of flavor. I used half pear and half apple. I made the recipe in a larger pan so doubled it except for the sugar which I did at x1.5 then 2 cups of the fruit. Warmed up with some vanilla ice cream and a caramel drizzle....DIVINE! Love this recipe for kicking off the fall season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I loved this!! So easy to make and just delicious!! The only changes I made,I did not have brown sugar so I used a tad bit more white sugar and some maple syrup and of course I put in about 1 1/2 cups of apples. This was so moist and the apples were so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Awesome! I did use more than a half cup of apples and I also added a little all spice and nutmeg and then I drizzled caramel on top after they were cooked. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Delicious as written--such an awesome recipe--gone in thirty seconds! It doesn't fill the 9x9 pan--I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I quadrupled the recipe except for the topping and baked in 3 square 8 in pans. I also increased the amount of apples like other reviewers did. I used 6 Gala apples total. I don't care for apple desserts, but these were phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silver
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I took the advice of several other reviewers and doubled everything but the topping and baked it in a 9x13" pan. I am glad I didn't double the topping. As it was, I used only half of it, as it would've been overwhelmingly cinnamon-y if I'd used it all (I just sprinkled it on until the top was totally covered and then stopped). I had no walnuts so I used pecans instead and they worked great! I think I might prefer them to walnuts in this recipe, actually. It might be a little dough-y and chewy, but I think that's how it is supposed to be. I don't get the idea that this is meant to be a cake. It looks and tastes like an apple pan cookie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Amazing! I used half the sugar and they were still very sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great taste I used nutmeg & allspice mixed it with my chopped apples and a little brown sugar too, I doubled the apples it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Amazing! I added 1 cup of apples. For the topping, I used 1 tbsp cinnamon & 2 tbsp sugar. Très délicieux! Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Yummy! I followed the review of momtoktl. I doubled the recipe, used 3/4c each sugar, 2 apples, no nuts, topped with only 1T sugar and 1t cinnamon, baked in 9x13 for 30 minutes. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States