Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
over all was good but not at all like pictured. it was hard to cut into squares which is what I needed for a school function :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I made this recipe as is (but added a few more apples)and it was amazing! I took them to work and now people are offering to pay me to make them more lol They're a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love this recipe, I tweaked it a bit, added 2 cups of apples vs. the 1/2 cup, skipped the nuts, cut the sugars in half, doubled the cinnamon, and my topping was a tbls. of butter, 3 tsp. of cinnamon. 1 tbls. of brown sugar, and a handful of quick oats, mashed with a fork and sprinkle on top, ok, I guess I tweaked it a lot lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Yummy. I double up on the apples and these are good served warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Pretty good. I had to sub walnuts for pecans because that's all I had. I wish I had a kitchen blow torch to melt the cinnamon/sugar topping just to see how it turned out but the topping was fine the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Exquisite. I added a couple tablespoons of unsweetened apples sauce. One of my favorite deserts by far. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassondraLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe is delicious! However I wouldn't exactly it healthy with amount of sugar in it but my husband loved them. I used gala apples but will probably try Granny Smith or Macintosh with a sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I can't rate this on the exact recipe. I read a lot of reviews for this and tried my best to follow their suggestions. Many suggested to double the recipe except for the sugars. Now, little fact, I always half recipes when I first try them out. I don't want to waste my ingredients for a failure you know? So Instead, I used the regular recipe and decreased the sugars from 1/2 cup to 1/3 (i am sure many hear would suggest 1/4 but I have a giant sweet tooth) and double the apples from 1/2 cup to a whole one. That is what I did. Now, I was expecting more of an apple crumble consistency, this was more of a cake. But as the recipe is, it is delicious. I made these for my mom and her friends and they loved it. I made these along side with some very tasty lemon bars (also from this site) and these ran out quick. They said the apples were baked perfectly and it was just the right amount of sweetness.They bashfully reached for seconds and thirds and I was very happy they enjoyed. I liked them as well and will definitely reach for this recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
It is really dense but still amazing. Mine seemed to take a bit longer than 30 minutes. It was probably closer to 40 minutes and could have easily baked another ten or so more. It just seems to have a really soft fall apart texture otherwise. Will totally make again though as it was really yummy. Made exactly as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My Dad loved these apple squares, so he would give them a 5 stars, I thought they really needed vanilla ice cream with them, which I didn't have, they are very sweet, I thought they were going to be more chewy, but mine were more cake like. If I make again, I will tried and tweet it so they will be more chewy. I also had gala apples which I added a large tablespoon of lemon juice to them after I cut them up and stirred it up to make them tart tasting. I also only lightly covered them with cinnamon sugar like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 915) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States