Apple Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
These are unbelievable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Great recipe! As previously suggested, I doubled the recipe except for the topping. Left out nuts and added a dash of almond extract. Baked at 350F for 33 minutes in a clay 9x13. It was delicious! Might add coconut next time for some more texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Well, must say first off that I failed when making this recipe. To start off with I didn't have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8x8. (That was mistake number one.) I didn't have brown sugar, so I used a cup of white. (That actually worked)I mixed it all as instructed and baked it. It came out looking great! (Apart from the fact that the cinnamon/sugar mixture on top just looked like raw cinnamon and sugar on top.)The middle sunk a little after cooling.So this is where my fail actually takes place. I envisioned a nice bubbly crust on top, kinda like you might see on a nice creme brule (sp?) Well not having a food grade blow torch I turn on the broiler and set the apple bars in. I stood there knowing it shouldn't take long. After a few minutes I open the oven to find FLAMES!!! I snatch out the flaming apple goodness and blow it out FAST. I stand there staring at what looks like a charcoal briquet. My heart has sunk to my toes. I decide to try and pick off the scorched top and was happy to find it was just the cinnamon/sugar mixture that was ruined!! The rest just turned out to taste like a nice moist apple cake. It tasted really good! If not for my total failure it may have just tasted great! I think I will try this recipe again without catching it on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Deitsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
These squares have been a big hit!!. I have made them several times. They stay moist and fresh for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I doubled everything it turend out great so yummy ,everyone loved it but ill cut down the sugar next time its a little bit sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was my first time really cooking or baking and the recipe was still amazing!!!!! I love apple based recipes and am always make up my own but this was by far the best, my mom dad and sister loved it and so did I. Thank you so much for posting this quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I bake for seniors groups. I try to do something different every week. This week I choose these apple squares. I am sorry I did. I am on a diet and I had a tiny little piece and could have eaten the entire 9 x 13 pan. They are absolutely delicious and so easy to make. The ladies don't like nuts (dentures you know) and I didn't have any raisins to I added the last of my currants and it turned out great. Can hardly wait to see their reaction at tomorrow's meeting. I hope I managed to keep my hands off them until then. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe. Oh I took others advice, doubled the recipe, used only 1/2 c of brown sugar and 1/2 of Splendid and used 3 Pacific Rose apples with skin still on. Just sprinkled about 1.5 T of brown sugar on top and pressed it in so it wouldn't fall off. Forgot to mention also next time I would triple the recipe as they came out a little on the thin side and the 'girls' like a good mouthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Baxter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made it for Easter. A big hit. Making for second time now, quadrupled the recipe for a deep 10 x 15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jean Silence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
this is a great recipe - i doubled it and used apple sauce with half butter and it was great! thanks for such an easy tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Valckx
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States