Apple Spice Snack Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
OOOh, we loved this. I was in a rush so, I only read 2 reviews and because someone said it was crumbly/dry, I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and a little water and an extra tablespoon of oil. Ah, yeah I went a tad bit overboard. But, it still turned out very delicious even though it was too moist. So, I won't be adding all that extra stuff next time. I do have to say that I did add 2 chopped apples cooked in 1/2 stick of cup, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1 tsp each of vanilla and cinnamon. I poured it in the pan then dumped the batter on top. I will continue to add this extra apple layer because it was so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
OMG SOOOOOOO good. And so easy, I almost felt guilty getting the rave reviews from my family (got over the guilt real quick) Didn't change a thing and didn't ice it...just added a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. It was gobbled up and they fought over the last piece. Second cake is in the oven. Thanks Reba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very easy and delicious. I did add some chopped walnuts to my batter. When serving, I topped with caramel sauce or whipped cream, both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Easy and fun recipe! My family loved it. I topped it with a homemade cream cheese frosting and it's almost gone! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Wonderful, everyone loved it, just added carmel icing and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made it exactly as described, and it turned out pretty good. My husband, however, didn't care for it... he said the cinnamon taste was way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was delicious! I opted to use yellow cake mix instead of spice, substituted applesauce for the oil and "iced" the cake with more applesauce. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake is just too easy to make and very very moist. I always add just a little extra spice and toss in some rasins. Love it !!!! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Made 1 8inch cake and 11 cupcakes. Had to purposefully "chop/mix" up some of the apple slices but great recipe.Made for mother-in-law's Sept birthday and everyone loved it! Topped with Caramel Frosting I from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Yum, very moist and delicious. Everyone loved it! I wish the apples didn't get so ground up, you couldn't even see them in the cake. Next time I will chop them up and then stir them in after beating the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States