Apple Spice Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Good stuff with pork chops. Left out the raisins and added a small bit of apple cider to boost the apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good! All the family liked it. I served it with the pecan and honey pork chops (see review). It went together perfectly. I had some packet mix byriani spices and I added a small amount at the first stage, just to jazz it up a bit. This is a definite winner and I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Wonderful side dish. My husband doesn't normally like ricey type dishes went back for seconds! I added slivered almond along with the other ingredients and the only change I will make next time is to double the recipe! It went well withe the Apple Butter Pork Loin from this site; however I used a turkey loin instead of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this a little differently. I used one generous tablespoon of butter which I sauteed half a large onion, one tart green apple, 2 large cloves of garlic and a heaped third cup of raisins. Sprinkled on 1/3 tsp. of homemade pie seasoning. I cooked this down for about 5 minutes before adding a third cup of NaVan (a vanilla liqueur produced by Grand Marnier) and the remainder water + chicken bouillon cube (I did add roughly another half cup of water as usually the ratio for rice is 1 to 2). Let it come to a boil and added the rice (I used basmati). Despite my changes, it was quite bland- I reduced/boiled some of the marinade from the shrimp main dish I served this with to give this more flavour. Served this with "Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Very, very good!! I did cut down to a 1/4 cup on the raisins though. This is truly a keeper. Compliments the stuffed pork tenderloin recipe by Mary Ann wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really good! Gentle subdued flavors, a wonderful complement to a stronger main dish. I cooked this exactly as the recipe called for except with extra garlic. A great dish as is but I will definitely experiment with spices! I loved the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It went very well with the pork chops with onions and apples that we made. It is a very nice addition to our collection of side dishes, and we look forward to playing around with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Added some Vindaloo spice and wow -- this was just tremendous! We're fighting over the leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I really enjoyed this, I love any dish that incorporates apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I loved this rice. After having a busy work week, I was being a bit lazy. I took 1/4 onion, I peeled and cut up an apple, and the garlic clove, and threw it in the processor. I then put them into a large microwave safe bowl with the 3 T butter and nuked on high for about a minute until onion was soft. Added the rice, chicken stock, S&P, and a 1/4 tsp. curry powder. Covered with plastic wrap and vented. Nuked on high for 5 mins, then medium for 15 mins, and let rest for 5 more minutes and fluffed with a fork. It was perfect. I left out the raisins (wish I didn't have to) but no one else here likes them but me. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States