Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
As suggested, used l l/2 cans pie filling. Looked like way too much topping and only used half. Thought it was too sweet. Would use even less topping but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This recipe turned out very well, or so I heard. I sent this along with my husband to a potluck, and he reported back that nothing but crumbs were left! I used a german chocolate cake mix, two cans of cherry pie filling, and chopped walnuts. Thank you, I will make this again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
FABULOUS!! I halved the three spices and used a Butter Pecan cake mix (and unsalted butter). YUM! YUM! YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I made this exactly as the recipe is written and thought it was a great fall treat. Smells wonderful, and it's easy to make. I would halve the allspice next time because I thought its flavor overpowered the other spices a bit. The only bad thing is that the topping got soft the next day. Still tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This cake was delicious. I substituted butter/pecan cake mix and the taste was awesome. Thanks for a delicious and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
very good!After reading some other reviews I decided to make this without all the spices.used only the cinnamon and sugar,turned out perfect.thanks for such an easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is similar to another recipe on this site which DOES use yellow cake mix -- go figure; wherever you read reviews, someone always likes it the other way! Anyway, I had used the OTHER recipe and substituted spice cake mix and used 2 cans of apples (other recipe called for one but was DEFINITELY not enough). Actually, the other recipe turned into THIS recipe when I made it a second time, including the mix of spices. In addition, rather than using butter on the top, when the cake cooled I frosted it with Dulce de Leche (caramel) frosting and BOY, what that ever good! That cake disappeared in seconds! This cake is definitely for someone with a sweet tooth who likes fall/spice flavors and a wet cake rather than dry and fluffy. I thought it was awesome and would have eaten the whole cake myself if I could! It's absolutely one of the easiest cakes you can make, it comes out great, it tastes spectacular and also goes a long way. I can see making the chocolate version with canned cherry filling as suggested by another reviewer. Try this recipe -- you'll love it! And thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMENICA1156

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was wonderful!! I took this to a church pot-luck and everyone loved it! Thank you for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I tried this as a substitute for spice cake and boy, was it ever spicey and I even reduced the amount I used given other reviews. My husband loved it and it is great with vanilla ice cream. I would cut the amount of apples down as it is pretty gooey too. PS I tried this with cherry pie filling (two large cans), added almond flavoring to the cherries and used dry chocolate cake mix. I melted one and half sticks of butter and poured over all and baked it for 45 minutes at 350. IT IS YUMMY and fast. No idea about calories, etc. though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This was very easy to make. I substituted ground cloves for the allspice since I didn't have it. I also took the advice of another reviewer and used yellow cake mix instead of spice cake mix. It turned out very well and everyone loved it except me. I thought it was a bit too sweet for my taste. I would probably make this again only not use as many spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States