Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this today, only instead of using two cans of apple pie filling, I peeled and sliced four Granny Smith apples and tossed them into the pie filling, while I made up a "sauce" in a saucepan on the stove. I added the spices to 1 1/4 c. water, two tbsp. cornstarch, a little lemon juice and a half cup of sugar. Once that thickened, I added it to the pie filling and apples. I haven't tried it yet, but it smells wonderful. TIP: It's best if you cut the butter/margerine into thin slices and layer them on top of the dry cake mix/nuts. Makes for a better crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
maybe i screwed up the recipe or the bake time, but my cake turned out so runny! it really wasn't appetizing at all. even with ice cream. might try again at a later date, or just skip it and make apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Great combination. Only variation that I made was using two sticks of butter and melting them first and pouring over cake, then adding nuts. As with all my dump cakes, I add a splash of vanilla extract to the butter before pouring over cake mix. Will definitely try this combo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
this cake is really good and so easy, it gets you in the fall mood. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I was looking for something quick to make with the granny smith apples from my tree. I used 2 large gs apples & only 1 can of pie filling. I added a little more sugar(2T. total) & used "Smart Balance" stick butter blend for the top. I cut calories & it still tasted yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
WONDERFUL!! I suggest taking the butter and softening it before adding to cake mix. I did not add the allspice but I added a dash of cinnamon and some fresh nutmeg. I would not do this with any cake other than the spice. It was great, my family and neighbors loved it and I'm making it again on Monday for my mother who is visiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I am so disappointed! This was very tasty if you could ignore the dry cake mix! I had never heard of "dump cake" before and after reading several of the recipes, I thought how much easier could making a cake be. I used one can of apple filling and added some applesauce to cover the bottom of the pan. I used a white cake mix and added cinnamon, nutmeg and a little ground cloves to it. I did everything else just like the recipe said. I sprinkled nuts on top and dotted the top with slices of butter. I cooked it at 375 for 45 minutes and I have a powder covered cake! I put it back in the oven, after pressing the top down, for 15 minutes and it helped a little bit. I noticed in a few reviews of other dump cakes that some people had this same problem but I didn't see any responses as to what could have been wrong. Can someone tell me what they think went wrong. I would appreciate the feedback. In the meantime, I'm going to have a piece of dry topping cake with a wonderful, tasty bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I appreciated the simplicity of this recipe. My family enjoyed this dessert and I will make it again. It seems like there is something missing but I'm not sure. I wonder if putting the cake mix on the bottom instead of the top would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Overall, probably the easiest dessert I've ever made. Smelled wonderful baking and tasted good too! Only issue I had was that the amount of spices seemed to overwhelm the apples, the flavor which I was really hoping would stand out. I'd make it again but probably either cut the spices in half or use the equivalent quantity (possibly a cup or two more) of homemade chunky applesauce or tender-cooked spiced apple slices instead of the canned pie mix. (I know it should be a 'dump' cake, but it's too hard to find apples in a can that aren't overly sweet.) Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed this for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I agree that this is more like apple crisp. I followed the recipe, but after cooking this for an hour, the top cake-mix layer was still VERY powdery. I had to add much more butter and cook it almost twice the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States