Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this cake and it was AWESOME!!! My kids loved it and I will for sure make it again. I used the Apple Pie Filling recipe for the filling. This recipe trully deserves an A+++!!!!! I definitely recomend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
For me this cake was just way to sweet and buttery, overkill...if you know what I mean but my parents loved it. My stepdad actually ate so much my mom asked me not to make it for a while...they loved it but it was just too much. The recipe is sound but I think the apple pie filling just makes it too much. Also the mix of spices was strong and dark which made the cake not to pretty to look at, which I can definately overlook so to speak if the taste is amazing and this just is not...its ok. I might tweak it and try again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is ok. Unless you're looking for a quick apple crisp because you adore the flavor, then its fine. If I want something like this which is usually once per year in the fall...I'll make real apple crisp with real apples. This is a good recipe for a quick dessert when you have unexpected company. I also think that the sugar and extra spices (except cinnamon) are not needed. The apple pie filling and cake mix have enough spices and sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Not good! There were clumps of dry cake mix that just donesn't taste good. I guess I don't know what a dump cake is. It was basically unedible. I made as directed and do not get what this is supposed to be! It was just mush. I should have made pie or cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Another big hit with a bunch of girl scouts. Used the store brand apple pie filling, and the girls took turns cutting the butter into the cake mix with a pastry blender until crumbly. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Delicious with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I'm a huge fan of traditional dump cake, and love spice cake. I made this last year, and think it is just too much with the spice cake. Will try with yellow cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this for my Bible class ages ranging from 17 to 60 and everyone loved it! I had just pulled it out of the oven before I left and someone had left some ice cream in the freezer at church. It was way better than apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Mood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
i used a reduced sugar pillsbury cake, cinnamon sugar, nutmeg, and one can of apple filling. too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Ended up having to melt extra butter and pour on the dry spots and let bake more. Otherwise it would have been powder cake. Haha. Topped the apples with a pinch of sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon before adding cake mix. Served warm with vanilla ice cream. I'll make it again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States