Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is similar to another recipe on this site which DOES use yellow cake mix -- go figure; wherever you read reviews, someone always likes it the other way! Anyway, I had used the OTHER recipe and substituted spice cake mix and used 2 cans of apples (other recipe called for one but was DEFINITELY not enough). Actually, the other recipe turned into THIS recipe when I made it a second time, including the mix of spices. In addition, rather than using butter on the top, when the cake cooled I frosted it with Dulce de Leche (caramel) frosting and BOY, what that ever good! That cake disappeared in seconds! This cake is definitely for someone with a sweet tooth who likes fall/spice flavors and a wet cake rather than dry and fluffy. I thought it was awesome and would have eaten the whole cake myself if I could! It's absolutely one of the easiest cakes you can make, it comes out great, it tastes spectacular and also goes a long way. I can see making the chocolate version with canned cherry filling as suggested by another reviewer. Try this recipe -- you'll love it! And thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMENICA1156

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This cake had a great taste,I omitted the nutmeg.The only complaint I have is it was just too sweet.I will make this again but I will use 1 can apple pie filling and 1 can cooked apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I thought this was good. More like apple crisp. I liked this better when I reduced the allspice to 1/4 tsp. and reduced the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This recipe was delicious. The second time I made it I was unable to find a spice cake mix at my local store so I substituted a carrot cake mix. It actually came out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this today, only instead of using two cans of apple pie filling, I peeled and sliced four Granny Smith apples and tossed them into the pie filling, while I made up a "sauce" in a saucepan on the stove. I added the spices to 1 1/4 c. water, two tbsp. cornstarch, a little lemon juice and a half cup of sugar. Once that thickened, I added it to the pie filling and apples. I haven't tried it yet, but it smells wonderful. TIP: It's best if you cut the butter/margerine into thin slices and layer them on top of the dry cake mix/nuts. Makes for a better crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome...great fall dessert. I also added golden raisins and it was great! NOTE: With all dump cakes..they ALWAYS turn out if you MELT the butter first and then pour it over the cake mix. The melted butter then aborbs the cake mix and you won't have any dry cake mix...it will work everytime...I use about 1.5 sticks of butter and it always turns out perfect...serve with fresh whipped cream with a tsp of vanilla mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I definately preferred the original dump cakes compared to this one. I definately thought that there were way too many spices in the taste, too much allspice, nutmeg or something about it that wasn't quite right. I might make again without the allspice and nutmeg or even with a different cake mix. But it was really easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY COUSIN'S GRADUTION PARTY, AND EVERONE LOVE IT! IT WAS GONE IN 5 SECONDS....THE CAKE THAT WAS BROUGHT TO HIM,WAS NEVER CUT!THIS RECIPE IS GREAT ESPECIALLY SERVED WITH HOMEMADE VANILLA ICE CREAM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious!!! I used two cans of Caramel Apple pie filling and added a few teaspoons of cinnamon and mixed it in. After spreading in 13X9 pan I poured a yellow cake mix on top, put the butter on and sprinkled cinnamon over the entire thing. SOOO good!!!! Served it with reduced fat vanilla ice cream. yum yum!! about to have my second helping. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States