Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This just came out of my oven a few minutes ago. Oh, My, Gosh!!! It is delicious! Based on other reviews and recommendations, I omitted the additional sugar, and mixed the butter in with the cake mix. I know my family will love it...if there's any left at dinner time!!! Thanks for a wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
It was good but would have cut the butter and cake mix together then put it on and I added more apple filling not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very sweet, definitly like apple cobbler, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This was excellent and took 5 min to prepare!I used a yellow cake mix,added cinnamon to the dry cake mix and worked in 1 stick of softened butter until it formed crumbs. I also added cinnamon to the apple pie filling. I put the cake mix/butter mixture on top of the apples and gently pressed down. It came out excellent! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday and he absolutely loved it! We took it over to his family's house to share and everyone there loved it too! It's true that it is more of a cobbler than a cake, but then so are all dump cakes. Absolutely wonderful served warm with vanilla ice cream. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very yummy. I used three cans of pie filling (I was making this for a big crowd), I only used cinnamon and sugar, and also, after reading reviews, I cut the butter (cold) into the dry cake mix until it looked crumbly and then poured the mix over the apples and it baked perfectly. I like that it is sweet and it has a great texture after sitting out for a few hours, so make this a few hours ahead of time. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This cake was DEE-LISH!! I've made it several times, and loved it each time. It's so easy to make. The first time I made it exactly as written, and it was great. My kids thought it was a bit too spicy though, so the second time I made it I did two teaspoons of cinnamon and only 1/2 teaspoon each of nutmeg and allspice. For my taste, I liked it better with the increased cinnamon and less spices, but it really was delicious made both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBRES821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I followed the recipe as written and it was wonderful! Made it in two square pans and shared it with a friend. She found it hidden in her kids' linen closet where they were trying to hide it from her because she was eating all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great with canned peach pie mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was really good with ice cream. Lots of spice taste. In the future, I'll only make this if I'm serving a large group. A lot of it went to waste. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States