Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This should be called a Crisp, not a cake. My two cans of pie filling had a thick sauce and it was not enouch to moisten all of the cake mix. I also reduced the allspice and nutmeg to avoid too sharp a taste. Canned apples might be a better choice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
With all the mixed reviews, I was skeptical about this recipe. I made a couple of changes and thought this cake was awesome. I omitted both the nutmeg and allspice and increased the cinnamon slightly (about 1/8 tsp). I also decreased the amount of pecans to 1/4 cup. I would also recommend cutting up the butter in small squares and line them up on top of the cake mix like a checker board. It's a MUST to serve this cake with vanilla ice cream. This is a fun and easy recipe for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i used real apples and added water. too spicey. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious!!! I used two cans of Caramel Apple pie filling and added a few teaspoons of cinnamon and mixed it in. After spreading in 13X9 pan I poured a yellow cake mix on top, put the butter on and sprinkled cinnamon over the entire thing. SOOO good!!!! Served it with reduced fat vanilla ice cream. yum yum!! about to have my second helping. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Fantastic!! Very easy and was a Great hit! Will make again. The only change I made is I added 1/8 tsp. more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made last night using a cinnamon-struessal cake mix. I eliminated the spices and used the struesal topping instead. Replaced 1 can of pie filling with 4 peeled and sliced honey crisp apples and made the 'sauce' a reviewer below talked about, but used 1 c. water and 1/4 cup bourbon. Baked 1 hour and this was THE BEST. Everyone loved it including my mother-in-law who can be rather picky. Easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I had a couple of problems with this cake that keep it from being at the top of my list. #1. I had a spot where I guess there wasn't enough butter, so I wound up with dry cake mix that did not become cake. It didn't taste bad (it's sweet after all) but it didn't look pretty either. #2. The spice mixture over-powered me in several bites (even though I reduced the allspice by half). I would definitely mix the spices into the apples in the future (and reduce both nutmeg and allspice by half personally but each to his own) so that there are no uneven "sprinkles". All in all this was pretty well-received, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome...great fall dessert. I also added golden raisins and it was great! NOTE: With all dump cakes..they ALWAYS turn out if you MELT the butter first and then pour it over the cake mix. The melted butter then aborbs the cake mix and you won't have any dry cake mix...it will work everytime...I use about 1.5 sticks of butter and it always turns out perfect...serve with fresh whipped cream with a tsp of vanilla mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this cake and it was AWESOME!!! My kids loved it and I will for sure make it again. I used the Apple Pie Filling recipe for the filling. This recipe trully deserves an A+++!!!!! I definitely recomend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
For me this cake was just way to sweet and buttery, overkill...if you know what I mean but my parents loved it. My stepdad actually ate so much my mom asked me not to make it for a while...they loved it but it was just too much. The recipe is sound but I think the apple pie filling just makes it too much. Also the mix of spices was strong and dark which made the cake not to pretty to look at, which I can definately overlook so to speak if the taste is amazing and this just is not...its ok. I might tweak it and try again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States