Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I use the canned apple pie filling, cutting the apples smaller then mixing sugar and cinnamon in it before pouring it in the pan. Next, I top it with the cake mix, take a butter knife and swirl it around, slightly mixing the two, then top with melted and pats of butter. No other spices for me! Finally, I lightly top it with icing (Betty Crocker version). Comes out perfect, completely baked, slightly crunchy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Ugh...awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
you can do this just like an origial dump cake. i used 2 cans apple pie filling and mixed in 1/2 c water to fill. sprinkled spice cake on top and poured melted butter over the top of that, can cant see adding more sugar and spices to something that has enough already. it just over does it, way too sweet. dump cakes are made for simplisity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made changes only because it's just my husband and me so I used 1/2 box spice cake mix (1 1/2 cup) 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice, 1/2 teaspoon sugar, 1 melted stick butter and 1 can apple pie filling. I put it in an 8X8 pan, and baked for 35-40 minutes. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I've been making dump cakes for 3o yrs and NEVER thought to spice them up! I've always used yellow cake mix. Baked this tonight with yellow cake mix as I don't normally buy spice cake mix & WOW! I will now always add the spices. They gave the cake a little pizazz. My husband & granddaughter had 2 helpings each! Will definitely try with the spice cake mix next time. I'm so glad I happened to be looking for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
The first time I made this, all I had in the cupboard was a butter pecan cake mix and it turned out just fine. Second time I used the spice cake mix and it was even better! This recipe is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made this for company and they loved it. Asked for the recipe. I didn't have any cinnamon, so I used one teaspoon pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp ground allspice. With the spice cake mix, this was plenty. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I only had 1 can of apple pie filling so I mixed it with a can of cherry pie filling. Excellent! Everyone at the party wanted the recipe. Goes great with ice cream also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Baked this a few days ago. Family has been enjoying it (for Easter). The spices however are a bit intense...particularly the allspice. We served this dump cake as well as a New York Style Crumb Cake from CrumbCakeCreations.com - which was strawberry jam-filled. Both went over real well. Not sure I'd make this particular recipe again due to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed. The additional sugar and spices were not necessary in my opinion. I like the concept so I will make it again, but will only use the apple pie filling, cake mix and butter. Also, this is definitely not a cake - it is more like an apple crisp. I may try mixing the apples with the cake mix to see how that turns out (I'm hoping more of a cake texture with big apple chunks in it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States