Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
one family member called said it looked like soupy pecan vomit. and he was right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
you can do this just like an origial dump cake. i used 2 cans apple pie filling and mixed in 1/2 c water to fill. sprinkled spice cake on top and poured melted butter over the top of that, can cant see adding more sugar and spices to something that has enough already. it just over does it, way too sweet. dump cakes are made for simplisity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made changes only because it's just my husband and me so I used 1/2 box spice cake mix (1 1/2 cup) 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice, 1/2 teaspoon sugar, 1 melted stick butter and 1 can apple pie filling. I put it in an 8X8 pan, and baked for 35-40 minutes. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I've been making dump cakes for 3o yrs and NEVER thought to spice them up! I've always used yellow cake mix. Baked this tonight with yellow cake mix as I don't normally buy spice cake mix & WOW! I will now always add the spices. They gave the cake a little pizazz. My husband & granddaughter had 2 helpings each! Will definitely try with the spice cake mix next time. I'm so glad I happened to be looking for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
The first time I made this, all I had in the cupboard was a butter pecan cake mix and it turned out just fine. Second time I used the spice cake mix and it was even better! This recipe is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made this for company and they loved it. Asked for the recipe. I didn't have any cinnamon, so I used one teaspoon pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp ground allspice. With the spice cake mix, this was plenty. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I only had 1 can of apple pie filling so I mixed it with a can of cherry pie filling. Excellent! Everyone at the party wanted the recipe. Goes great with ice cream also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Baked this a few days ago. Family has been enjoying it (for Easter). The spices however are a bit intense...particularly the allspice. We served this dump cake as well as a New York Style Crumb Cake from CrumbCakeCreations.com - which was strawberry jam-filled. Both went over real well. Not sure I'd make this particular recipe again due to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed. The additional sugar and spices were not necessary in my opinion. I like the concept so I will make it again, but will only use the apple pie filling, cake mix and butter. Also, this is definitely not a cake - it is more like an apple crisp. I may try mixing the apples with the cake mix to see how that turns out (I'm hoping more of a cake texture with big apple chunks in it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I just made this last night and thought it was wonderful! After reading some of the more negative reviews I realized many may not be familiar with Dump Cakes. This will not come out looking like a traditional cake. It is crispy on top and moist in the middle. I usually check the cake for dry spots when there is about 15 minutes left in the bake time. I put about a half a tablespoon of butter in those spots and continue baking. And to repeat what others have said...vanilla ice cream is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States