Apple Spice Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed. The additional sugar and spices were not necessary in my opinion. I like the concept so I will make it again, but will only use the apple pie filling, cake mix and butter. Also, this is definitely not a cake - it is more like an apple crisp. I may try mixing the apples with the cake mix to see how that turns out (I'm hoping more of a cake texture with big apple chunks in it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I just made this last night and thought it was wonderful! After reading some of the more negative reviews I realized many may not be familiar with Dump Cakes. This will not come out looking like a traditional cake. It is crispy on top and moist in the middle. I usually check the cake for dry spots when there is about 15 minutes left in the bake time. I put about a half a tablespoon of butter in those spots and continue baking. And to repeat what others have said...vanilla ice cream is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This should be called a Crisp, not a cake. My two cans of pie filling had a thick sauce and it was not enouch to moisten all of the cake mix. I also reduced the allspice and nutmeg to avoid too sharp a taste. Canned apples might be a better choice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
With all the mixed reviews, I was skeptical about this recipe. I made a couple of changes and thought this cake was awesome. I omitted both the nutmeg and allspice and increased the cinnamon slightly (about 1/8 tsp). I also decreased the amount of pecans to 1/4 cup. I would also recommend cutting up the butter in small squares and line them up on top of the cake mix like a checker board. It's a MUST to serve this cake with vanilla ice cream. This is a fun and easy recipe for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i used real apples and added water. too spicey. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious!!! I used two cans of Caramel Apple pie filling and added a few teaspoons of cinnamon and mixed it in. After spreading in 13X9 pan I poured a yellow cake mix on top, put the butter on and sprinkled cinnamon over the entire thing. SOOO good!!!! Served it with reduced fat vanilla ice cream. yum yum!! about to have my second helping. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Fantastic!! Very easy and was a Great hit! Will make again. The only change I made is I added 1/8 tsp. more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made last night using a cinnamon-struessal cake mix. I eliminated the spices and used the struesal topping instead. Replaced 1 can of pie filling with 4 peeled and sliced honey crisp apples and made the 'sauce' a reviewer below talked about, but used 1 c. water and 1/4 cup bourbon. Baked 1 hour and this was THE BEST. Everyone loved it including my mother-in-law who can be rather picky. Easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I had a couple of problems with this cake that keep it from being at the top of my list. #1. I had a spot where I guess there wasn't enough butter, so I wound up with dry cake mix that did not become cake. It didn't taste bad (it's sweet after all) but it didn't look pretty either. #2. The spice mixture over-powered me in several bites (even though I reduced the allspice by half). I would definitely mix the spices into the apples in the future (and reduce both nutmeg and allspice by half personally but each to his own) so that there are no uneven "sprinkles". All in all this was pretty well-received, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome...great fall dessert. I also added golden raisins and it was great! NOTE: With all dump cakes..they ALWAYS turn out if you MELT the butter first and then pour it over the cake mix. The melted butter then aborbs the cake mix and you won't have any dry cake mix...it will work everytime...I use about 1.5 sticks of butter and it always turns out perfect...serve with fresh whipped cream with a tsp of vanilla mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States