Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great base recipe. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce to cut down on the fat and 1 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar just to try something different. I doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of ground clove and I didn't have any ginger so I omitted it. I also used walnuts instead of raisins because we don't like them and I used my food chopper to finely chop the apples because I didn't want big chunks (you couldn't see the apples but you could taste the flavor). I also added 2 teaspoons of baking powder because I wanted it to be fluffy. I baked in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes and it came out great. It was very moist and delicious and this was my first time making a spice cake (my fiance asked for it for father's day). I topped with a vanilla cream cheese frosting. Another cake recipe to add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the raisins. The wonderful aroma while it was baking was almost too much to handle - it smelled oh-so-good. The cake is moist and it tastes wonderful. I have an apple tree and need to use up lots of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I normally don't like to review a recipe until I can complete it almost exactly but I was super eager to make this cake and I had just ran out of butter and oil so I subbed an entire cup of applesauce instead. I also accidentally added an extra apple and used rum soaked raisins instead of water soaked. I also used a reviewer's advice and subbed half the sugar for brown sugar. My end result? A SUPER moist cake that is more like a bread pudding than an actual cake but the taste is out of this world! I noticed giant apple chunks in some of the photos but I would advise against that, I say pieces slightly bigger than peas will yield the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Sooo good! This was a hit at the potluck at work, and my hubby loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indigo Flare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe. Big hit at work. Made a few small changes: added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and cut butter to 2/3 cup; replaced 1 cup of the sugar with 3/4 cup brown sugar; cut allspice to 1/2 tsp and added a pinch of cloves; grated the apples in the food pro; made in 9x13 pan and baked 40 minutes; iced with maple cream cheese frosting. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent! I have found it works well to grate the apple on a coarse box grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Good tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for Christmas for my family and we all loved it. 2 things I did differently: (1) I soaked raisins in 1T Rum instead of just in water. (2) I cored and sliced the apples thinly and let it sit in the lemon juice from 1 whole lemon, 2 teaspoonfuls of sugar, dash of salt and some powdered cinnamon in a ziploc bag while I was working on the rest of the ingredients. The cake came out really good. Thank you, Krissyp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michimama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We make cupcakes using the recipe instead and they came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for my fathers birthday and everyone LOVED it! I didn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States