Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Everyone in my family LOVED this! And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
whew! this was a dry cake if i ever saw one! i will add a dollop of sourcream next time i make this (yes, i'll make this again) i grated gala apples vs chopping. & i used alot more allspice. i also frosted this w/store bought vanilla frosting. I HAD TO I HAD NO CHOICE. this was dry!! it was a good coffee dessert if you know what i mean. all in all, very very good flavor & holiday appropriate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by godiva99
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this cake a while ago and am itching to make it again. It was so flavorful and held well. I used 1 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Wonderful. Even better if you take some powdered sugar, apple cider, and cinnamon and make a glaze to pour over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
The only change I made to the original recipe was to rough grate the apples. I used gala apples. It turned our beautiful and delicious. The next time I make it I will try granny smith apples cut in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
i reduced the recipe to serve 7 and made it in a loaf pan. didn't have all purpose flour so i subbed in 3/4 whole wheat, and 1/4 bread flour for the 1 cup the recipe required. totally awesome. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This cake is wonderful. I made it twice, first i soaked my apples in rum then I substituted walnuts for the raisins. I made to first one sugar free using xylitol and the second one I made gluten free using a rice flour mixture. This is a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I added one more apple because I thought mine were on the small side but I almost wish I hadn't. Made it take longer to bake and it was almost too miost. Next time I make it I'll up the spice amounts at least by one-half. It had good flavor just not spiced enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This cake was DELICIOUS and moist and just wonderful! I even substituted ingredients to make it healthier and the spices just gave it this great kick and it still tasted so so so good! Maybe next time I'll try adding some lemon or orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States