Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this for a coworkers birthday and everybody seemed to like it. Modified sugar to 1/2 cup brown, 1 1/2 white and butter to 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce, increased cinnamon & allspice to 2 teaspoons each. Baked in 9 x 13 pan for 40-45 minutes. Cooled and frosted with cream cheese frosting. Yummy, smelled delicious, very moist. Chop your apples very finely, or use a food processor. Thanks for a great recipe. Would make excellent muffins as the edges are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIC65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I wish I had made it in a Bundt pan, but I thought tube pan meant Angel Food pan. So it wasn't so pretty, but the taste was fantastic. I topped with a thin butter frosting and cut way back on the nutmeg since I don't like the flavor of it. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
yummy! I used 1 red delicious apple and 2 granny smith. I left the skin on the red delicious to give it a little more texture and since it's good for you! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup cinnamon applesauce but did not omit the other cinnamon. I used my food processer to chop the apples since I'm terrible at that. I made mini muffins with these so I reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I may be rating this too soon (as I'm writing, the cake is in the oven) but it looks good, smells great, and hopefully will taste amazing! I did a couple things different. First, I left the skins on the apples. I know, not a HUGE change, but I like the look of it, and I was lazy! Second, I added about 3/4 c. chopped pecans. Third, I upped the amount of cinnamon called for, mainly because my boyfriend and I love cinnamon. Also, I didn't have any allspice so I added a little more nutmeg and cinnamon for that purpose as well. Fourth, I didn't have a tube/bundt pan so I put it in a 13X9 pan for about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Moist, easy, great cake! I poured a caramel rum sauce over when almost cool for a Apple Jack spiced rum cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kara Chavey
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Delicious!!! We drizzled some vanilla frosting over it, but it is not needed. We also left out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My kids and I made this cake. It was easy to make and incredibly moist. It was a big hit at our house. I am sure to be making another one soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Delicious. I only made a few minor changes. 1. I coursely shredded the apples instead of chunks as larger peices can cause a cake to fall apart. 2. I used a 13X9 inch pan. Very good cake. I also topped it with cake icing but that made it too sweet for me. Wouldn't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
My daughter went apple picking and I'm not crazy about apple pie so I was looking for something different. This was an awesome recipe. I especially loved the mix of spices and that you could taste them all. It was more like a spice cake with apples than an apple cake with spices. I did lighten it up as a previous reviewer did and used 1/2 & 1/2 on the AP/WW flours and applesauce/butter. I made 2 loafs instead of a bundt and added walnuts to one of the loafs. It was definitely better with the walnuts. Next time I want to use egg substitute instead of 4 whole eggs as I'm watching my cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I had some problems with it sticking to the pan, but it did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States