Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ChefJessie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This cake was very tasty and sweet...especially the next day. This recipe is party guest favorite. It vanished without a trace within minutes. That's always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
5 stars all the way - delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a very very moist and delicious cake...especially on day 2 and 3 if it lasts that long! I added a little more cinnamon but otherwise kept to the recipe and had absolutley no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great, moist cake. Not as appley as I thought it would be, but still delicious. (I shredded 3 granny smith apples). I did as one previous cook recommended and soak the raisins in rum, which added a nice bite. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I found this cake heavy on the eggs, and little on the spice and apple. Perhaps if you lessen the eggs, add more spice, and do the apples in a food processor first, to get more apple favor into it. All in all, sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This cake was awesome! I followed the recipe to a "T" except for shredding the apples instead of chopping them and it was just fabulous. I didn't find it to be too oily or too sweet. The spices were just right. Even my hubby loved it and he isn't a big dessert eater! Next time I make it I may add nuts and maybe soak the raisins in rum instead of water.. :-) yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylviacooks
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious cake!! I didn't have any allspice, so I used ground clover instead (only two dashes since it has such an overpowering flavor). I even made a sauce to drizzle on top thinking the cake might not be moist, but it turned out I didn't need it and wasted the sauce. Only problem was getting the cake out of the pan. Next time I will pour a little bit of plain batter in first and then add all the fruit since it was the raisins that kept the cake from coming out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a very yummy spicey cake, I basically followed the recipe, except I omitted the raisins since I did not have any. Cake was flavorful and moist without them. I also made in a bundt cake pan and sprinkled Paula Deen's Cinnamon Sugar (grinder) on the top of the batter before baking to add a layer of crunch to the cake. Also, used 1/2 butter, 1/2 margarine and use 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup organic granulated sugar that has more molasses to it but not quite brown sugar. i also omitted dusting cake with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I thought this could have been better. It's very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Very, very good. I chopped the apples pretty small and omitted the raisins. The flavor and consistency were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States