Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I LOVE THIS CAKE! I love the original recipe or to make it a little healthier I do just 1 cup of sugar and trade apple sauce for the butter. I even have added blueberries to the mix. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I wanted to make an apple cake for breakfast in the morning, and stumbled upon this recipe. I can't believe how good it is! I had to make some minor alterations as per our family's taste buds, but no big deal, it still came out wonderful! I only used 1 cup of white sugar, that's it, and for us, it was still more than sweet enough. Next time, I'll use 1/2 cup white + 1/2 brown, and see the difference. Also, I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, a pinch of cloves (and I do mean pinch), and approx 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Again, for us, this was perfect! I had spartan apples on hand, and I peeled and finely chopped about 4 of them, and they were delicious in the cake. I used a 9x13 pan, generously greased, and baked it for exactly 40 min at 350. Thank you Kristin for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Archangel
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Next time I make this particular cake, I'll use two cake tins and make it as a layer cake, as my Bundt form was a little small for it. I added a caramel/cinnamon glaze over a fresh fruit centre. A very pretty cake, and extremely moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archangel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I love this cake it is the best cake everyone in my house loves this cake I did top it with home made cream cheese frosting though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious! I made a few adjustments which worked very well. I substituted a 1/2 cup of brown sugar for white as suggested, and I also substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for butter to reduce the fat a little. I didn't have any raisins so I used walnuts instead which added a nice crunch. I would suggest cutting the nutmeg as it is a very dominant flavor in the cake. I baked it for 50 minutes in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect. It's especially delicious with a little cream cheese spread on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I liked this cake but I, personally, like a bit more spice in my spice cake. I used red delicious apples...never again! Just lacked that apple flavor I was looking for. The recipes calls for 3 apples and a novice baker would grab any type of apple. I used the red delicious because that is what had and they needed to be used up. I also used a 9 x 13 inch pan for 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My Husband made this cake. We all had a piece-it was great! His Mother came over after dinner-she didn't want any dinner but ate the rest of the cake! There was 1/2 of a cake there! Husband knows where his bread is buttered! He made me another cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azure
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This cake turned out amazing! It was so moist and delicious and really easy to make, the hardest part was peeling ans slicing the apples. I skipped the raisins and confectioners sugar and baked it in a regular rectangular pan and it still came out so delicious. This is my go to cake recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a simple cake to make. It's not too sweet, and since there's no frosting it's not a production to bake. The second time I made it, I added broken walnuts - very good. I emailed the recipe to a friend with several apple trees and she's as enthusiastic as I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I had a lot of apples to peel, core, etc. and had already made 4 apple pies... looked for an apple spice cake and gave this a try. My family devowered this in 1/2 day (evening dessert and morning breakfast). It's a very moist cake. My only problem is that I didn't grease my cake pan very well and some of it stuck to the sides of the pan. My next batch I'll butter AND flour the pan. Making another batch today! Give this a try and you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States