Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by HATCHERY
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I added more spice to the cake! I also left out the raisins. I think this cake is truly excellent - easy, moist, and perfect in the fall. I liked it so much, I submitted a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This recipe was awesome. Everyone... and I mean from a one year old to a 75 year old enjoyed this cake! It was perfect the very first try. This recipe has already been passed out to 3 of my neighbours! Thanks Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I have to agree with a past reviewer, this was too "spicy!" If it weren't for that, it would've been fine. I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup ( 1/2 white and brown) and cooked the apples over the stove top with the spices and brown sugar and then processed them. I also reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup of apple sauce and used 4 small apples and 1/2 cup of more apple sauce. I then threw everything in the processor and let it do it's thing. Actually cooked in just 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I would drop the allspice. Too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Very delicious! I made it for a Mother's Day present and my mom (and dad) thought it was excellent! I added only 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of the 2; it was plenty sweet enough! Next time I would cut the butter in half and use half applesauce because the cake was rather greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librariange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Since all the reviews I read were positive, I thought I would try this recipe. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this cake did not turn out as expected. First of all, I was taught to invert the cake when you bake in a tube pan for cooling. There were no directions on whether to invert or not. I did and the cake fell out of the pan in many pieces. I had tested the cake for doness as per instructions. The tester came out clean after baking for 1 hour. Since the top of the cake looked a little moist still, I baked it an additional 5 minutes. I have to admit, the cake was extrememly moist, almost to the point of being mushy. Can't say I will be trying this recipe again. Thanks anyway......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
What a great cake recipe! Delicious when fresh and even better the next day.....thank you, Kristin for the recipe....will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYNE04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Made the cake today and don't understand what all the raves are about. One of my least favorite apple cakes. Very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Deelicious! Moist, spicey, wonderful. Followed recipe except left out raisens. Topped individual servings with butter sauce from another spice cake recipe on this site. Thank you. SylvanSpirit Farms eendi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This has to be hands-down the best apple cake I have had. I served it at a family dinner and everyone took some home. I followed the advice of other reviewers and decreased the sugar to 1 cup - it was perfectly sweet enough. Also, I only used 1/2 cup of butter and substituted 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce. It was moist, spicy and delicious. Thank you - this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States