Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Terrific base cake for fruity variations! I substituted 1.3 C. agave nectar for the sugar, used half the butter, 1.5 t. baking soda and 2 T. lemon juice. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour- it was sweet and fragrant, and I cut my guilt in half but reducing the gycemic index a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is probably the best thing I ever made. I've made this now four times and it came out so delicious and moist every time. It was a hit with my co-workers and at home. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This had a great flavor! I also made a streussel to put on top and baked it in mini loaf pans. It was delicious. Nice and spicy and good apple flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe. It looked so good. I took the advice of most reviewers and reduced the amount of sugar. The cake didn't rise the way my other bundt cakes always do and I found it to be dry. All that fruit and this cake was still on the crumbly side. I consider myself to be an experienced baker and I was not impressed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This buttery apple cake is certainly a new Fall favorite in our home! I have been searching for a spicy apple cake that does not depend on oil in the batter and this moist flavorful cake is the one. I did follow advice and grated 1/2 of the apples, chopping the rest, along with doubling the spices called for. I used a 13x9 inch pan but will use a bundt pan from now on. I added cream cheese frosting but this cake does not need any more, it stands well alone. The first crisp day in September signals a return to baking in our home and this delicious cake did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
It's far too much nutmeg, it's all you can taste. Otherwise, the cake came out well, it has a very nice texture. I substituted some brown sugar for 1/2 cup of the white, and I think it would be better as written, with all white sugar. I would say halve the nutmeg, and if you want it spicier, add some more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made this with fresh pears (my guest was allergic to apples) and used both golden and dark raisins. I made muffins and sprinkled chopped walnuts and sugar on top prior to baking. I laso used 1/2c packed brown sugar and 1/2c white plus cut down on the margarine. Came out wonderfully, she asked for my recipe after one bite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is the one! The best apple cake recipe I have ever tried. Not too sweet, not too tart, it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
FABULOUS RECIPE! My 11 year old daughter made this cake for a 4-H show (with a little of my help), and the cake is awesome! The only changes we made was, we did not add raisins, and did use any substitutions. Also, the apples were chopped finely. The picture showed big chunks. (we used Granny Smith Apples) The only thing I would change next time is the powdered sugar on top.. since it kept clumping from the moisture even after the cake was cooled completely. Next I will make a thin icing & not use very much at all. LOOOOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This cake was excellent- moist & delicious. I did make a few minor adjustments- I cut back on the sugar- used 1 cup of raw sugar cane & 1/2 cup brown sugar, I did not put confectioner's sugar on top, & I used oat flour instead of all purpose white flour. I will be making it again for our gathering on Thanksgiving. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States