Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made this cake for my family and it was eaten in one day, I added cranberries and raisins, yummy! It has a dense texture like banana bread, excellent for breakfast with cream cheese, or as a dessert. Next time will add more walnuts as i love them, def going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
LOVED this one! only change was to just use 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg for the seasonings and I also shredded the apples instead of leaving them in chunks--then topped with a whipped cream cheese frosting--everyone absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I loved this cake. Perfect fall treat. Moist, flavorful, delicious (especially with a cream cheese drizzle frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CasperATX
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Wow what a cake!! I took the advice and used 1/2c brown and 1c white sugar. I didn't have allspice so I used some pumpkin spice. I'm not sure why some think it's too spicy, I think it is very tasty!! I did chop my apples, but made them kinda small. Instead of vanilla in the cake, I used almond extract to give it a little nutty flavor, worked perfect. Great cake, great flavor...will definetly make this again! Check out my picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CasperATX
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I'll definitely do this one again, I was 'helped' by my two youngest sons as well and it still turned out great, everyone came back for more. Thank you for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddcmommy
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This turned out to be the best cake i've ever made! I am making it again right now, the second time in a week! Took it to a party and everybody went crazy over it. I made a cream cheese frosting that I drizzled over the top because I wanted it to be more of a dessert but will do powdered sugar this time I think. This ones going into permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Made this recipe today, was looking for something different. I followed recipe for the most part, I did reduce sugar to cup and half, but everyones sweet tooth is different and I did half/half brown/white sugar, also used whole wheat/all purpose half and half. Shredded the apples, and didn't use butter at all, used apple sauce only...was hoping it wouldn't be too much apple...It was fine, husband and step-daughter loved it. I added walnuts, but that's my personal liking..would use this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is my husband's favorite. It is very moist and I have substituted chopped dates for the raisins on occasion. I also left off the glaze and the cake was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. I left off the glaze and it was perfect, not too sweet. I used a springform pan because I didn't have the fancy mold. I actually made this recipe to pair with a wine tasting due to the spices in this cake, and everyone devoured it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Turned out absolutely amazing! I substituted 1/2 the butter for 1/2 a cup of apple sauce, added 20 g of flour and topped it with chopped walnuts Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States