Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very good! And tasty for a fall dessert. However, I don't really approve of the icing. It came out much runnier than expected, even after adding more confectionar sugar; I'd recommend using a different icing. But, other wise, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used this icing on a made from scratch spice cake and it was a perfect addition. I felt it needed more apple butter after my first attempt. I doubled the quantity and added a little cinnamon. Perfect. I'll definitely be pulling this recipe out again in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Yes this cake is incredibly easy to make, but it tastes like it is from a box/can. Unless you are willing to do some major doctoring (perhaps add 4-6 bananas and a packet of vanilla pudding) it isn't worth it. I only made it because I wanted to get rid of my can of apple pie filling. Also, to get the cake to look like the picture you will need a ton of icing as this recipe as is produces large dimples in the cake. The icing recipe is worth saving and also works great with pumpkin butter, but dont waste your time on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake was super easy and so good! I sprinkled chopped walnuts on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was a hit at home and at work! I added 3 T of oil because I was worried it wouldn't be moist enough, it came out lovely. Made 18 cupcakes! Used Caramel Frosting I also from this site. Prepared the frosting and dipped the tops of the cupcakes into it. The flavors were excellent together. My 4 year-old says they are his favorite cupcake and he wants them for his upcoming Birthday. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I cooked this cake as is in a 13 by 9 pan and made the icing as is without the apple butter it was delicious!!! my daughter is making it for her friends 17th bday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made the recipe as-is with no modifications. It was fast and easy to get into the oven. It was so moist and had such a great flavor. I baked it in 2 - 8in round pans. But I will make it in the 9X13 next time. My family gobbled it up!!The entire cake is gone after 1 day! I have never seen a cake get eaten so fast! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyseaman
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I was all set to make this and looked through my cupboards and found out I didn't have apple pie filling. So, I made my own. (In small saucepan, I used 1 1/4 c. water, 1 tbsp. lemon juice, 2 tbsp. cornstarch, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. allspice and cooked it until thickened, then added three large cored, peeled and chopped Granny Smith apples.) Other than that, I made no changes. Smells wonderful. I'll update my review once my family's been able to try it. It really wasn't all that difficult to throw together as a quick dessert, even with making my own substitute apple pie filling. EDITED: I don't think the cream cheese type of frosting is the right frosting for this cake. It tastes off to me. It might be better with a brown sugar frosting or even a vanilla glaze. If I make this again, I'll try that. The cake and frosting are good on their own but would be better paired with different recipes. EDITED SEVERAL DAYS LATER: Noone ate this. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States