Apple Snack Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Made this for a school fundraiser and it was great. Easy to make also used the all-purpose flour. Made one batch with nuts and one without - topped them with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Just tried this recipe, and the resulting snack bars are delicious! Well worth the workout that the arm gets mixing the stiff dough. Since I used All Purpose Flour, I followed the directions in an earlier review by adding baking powder and salt to the flour mixture. Perfect recipe to use for take along meals, picnics, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe is strikingly similar to one from a favorite cookbook of mine, the only differnces are this one adds the vanilla and calls for 1 cup of butterscotch and the cookbook version calls for 3/4 cup. I have made this (the cookbook's way) many, many times and always get asked for the recipe. The batter is very thick, dough like and can easily fool you into thinking you forgot to add something, lol. Kids love this, and even friends who've said they don't like butterscotch loved these bars. They also pack well for picnics and potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I made this for company yesterday and everyone loved it! It was very easy to throw together and I will make it again today for a carry-in. Next time I will cut the amount of sugar as some of the reviews suggest, as the butterscotch chips make it plenty sweet. Apple Snack Squares are the best comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe was easy and very different. I also cut back on the sugar and substituted 1/2 brown sugar. I only cooked it for 30 minutes and it came out perfect. My husband, family and neighbors loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is great. I made it for work, and everyone raved! The only thing is when they say the mixture is thick, they aren't kidding. The more you work the apples and walnuts into it, it becomes more pliable and easier to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
My family and co-workers really liked this receipe. It smells great when it's cooking. I used less sugar and less oil, as was suggested by previous reviewers. It was easy and it came out great. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Wasn't very good. Me and my friend made it. Eat while still hot because gets very dry. I would not advise to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Sorry, this was a waste of my time and apples. Didn't like the texture or taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
EXCELLENT! I read previous reviews and also cut sugar back to 1 & 1/2 C. I reduced oil to 1/2 C. and then added 1/4 C. applesauce. I didn't have self rising flour; used 1 C. All-Purpose, 1 & 1/4 tsp. baking powder and pinch of salt for every 1 C. of self-rising flour. Cake was wonderful! Didn't use nuts because I have two toddlers that don't do nuts yet. I highly recommend the butterscotch chips. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States