Apple Snack Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by aimnichole
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I make a version of this recipe that uses 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour instead of self-rising. 3 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp of salt is also added. I leave the nuts out since neither my husband or I care for them, but they still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimnichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Amazing! Took this to a potluck and it disappeared in minutes. The butterscotch chips add a great flavor and makes the house smell so good while it's baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was tasty but not my favorite combo of flavors I found out. If I do make it again I will leave out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very yummy! I did cut back the sugar, using just under 1 1/2 cups. Used one egg with 2 egg whites and also used 1/3 cup canola with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (always swap out some oil with applesauce when I bake). I left out the nuts as I knew my boys would prefer without and also folded the butterscotch chips into the batter. My only error with this recipe was using too many apples (about 4 cups) as I think it contributed to extra moisture in my cake and caused some areas to be a bit 'gooey'. Regardless, not the fault of the recipe! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I was surprised after I fixed this at how good it was. I didn't include the nuts, cut the oil & used unsweetened applesauce-1 cup. I substituted brown sugar for the white & cut that as others as suggested to 1 1/2 cups - still sweet enough. It went over wonderfully in our home & will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Popular with the kids. I reduced the sugar to 1 and a 1/2 cups. I believe one improvement would be to mix the chips right into the batter in order to blend with the flavor overall, as their taste was dominant. Tart apples are not absolutely necessary. I had good results with Gala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!! I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as suggested and I also used 1/3 veg. oil and 4 oz of unsweetened applesauce, instead of the full amount of oil as stated in the original recipe. I also cooked the cake in a 15x10 jelly roll pan. A perfect recipe for those extra apples at harvest time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I *LOVE* this cake! I cut the sugar back as well bc it was seriously hurting my teeth. 1 1/2 C as previously mentioned is perfect. I have actually made this several different ways but don't reduce the butterscotch it adds more flavor than sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Five stars for easy, five stars for delicious, five stars for fast! Moist and not as heavy as I was anticipating. I added a bit more apple, combination of granny smith and red delicious, used pecans and decreased the sugar by just a quarter cup. I also didn't have butterscotch chips but you all have to try the cinnamon chips!!! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Sounded great,but : followed directions but decreasing sugar,still too sweet,and baking the allowed time. However,nicely browned outside,but like raw cookie dough inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States