Apple Slab Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Took this to a church picnic and everyone wanted to know who made it.I was alittle gun shy of the crust because it was so moist when I rolled it out but it came out in the end. This for me is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Hint: Don't skimp on the butter and brown sugar. I also added some nutmeg and cloves, but that's just because I'm not too fond of the "just cinnamon" taste. I also recommend leaving out the 3/4 cup sugar in the apples and adding (about) a tablespoon of tapioca starch in. Otherwise a great recipe: would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this was only ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was AMAZING. I love it. I followed someone else's advice and used the "no roll pie crust 1" for the crust because I hate rolling dough and by doubling that recipe it was perfect for the crust. I also used less sugar and thought it was perfect but sweetness is personal. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
WONDERFUL! Needed a quick dessert with apples, and tried this. Everyone gave great compliments. Def a keeper for anytime, and makes a great fall dessert on a chilly night with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top! I used a different pie crust recipe because I do not like a "roll" pie crust, so I used the "NO ROLL PIE CRUST I" from this website, you just press the crust into the pan with your hand, so much easier and very crisp and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
great recipe! I doubled the recipe, and put it into 3 8x12 aluminum pans. I froze two, beore cooking and will pull them out for company. The other one I baked and it came out perfect. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup, and added instant oatmeal to the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I have to admit I was pretty skeptical as I was making this recipe. I baked it in a 10x15 cookie sheet and was worried that the whole thing would overflow and make a huge mess. BUT...it turned out great. I've never made my own crust before and this was super easy, and I used apples from my backyard. I don't know if I would call it a pie, so much as an apple pie "square", but once it has cooled it cuts up and serves easily and tastes great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Not as pretty as pie, but delicious and serves a larger group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Too sweet. Next time, use less sugar and sprinkle it over apples right before baking. Apples got too syrupy while making crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
i used splenda insted of sugar because simple i didn't have sugar in the house. i screwed up the recepie and i know it but the pie still came out wonderful not bad for my first attempt at making a pie. i plan to use this recepie again and again hopefully getting it right in the feature sence we just found an apple tree behind our home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States