Apple Slab Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
WONDERFUL! Needed a quick dessert with apples, and tried this. Everyone gave great compliments. Def a keeper for anytime, and makes a great fall dessert on a chilly night with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top! I used a different pie crust recipe because I do not like a "roll" pie crust, so I used the "NO ROLL PIE CRUST I" from this website, you just press the crust into the pan with your hand, so much easier and very crisp and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
great recipe! I doubled the recipe, and put it into 3 8x12 aluminum pans. I froze two, beore cooking and will pull them out for company. The other one I baked and it came out perfect. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup, and added instant oatmeal to the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I have to admit I was pretty skeptical as I was making this recipe. I baked it in a 10x15 cookie sheet and was worried that the whole thing would overflow and make a huge mess. BUT...it turned out great. I've never made my own crust before and this was super easy, and I used apples from my backyard. I don't know if I would call it a pie, so much as an apple pie "square", but once it has cooled it cuts up and serves easily and tastes great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Not as pretty as pie, but delicious and serves a larger group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Too sweet. Next time, use less sugar and sprinkle it over apples right before baking. Apples got too syrupy while making crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
i used splenda insted of sugar because simple i didn't have sugar in the house. i screwed up the recepie and i know it but the pie still came out wonderful not bad for my first attempt at making a pie. i plan to use this recepie again and again hopefully getting it right in the feature sence we just found an apple tree behind our home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I hate the be the one to go against the grain here, but I really wasn't impressed with these. I expected more of a pie product, and it really was just apple crisp, without the crisp and with a crust. The crust was really thick, which definitely took away from the apple flavor, and my dinner guests just scraped the apple part of the crust and ate that. I'll stick to either apple crisp or apple pie, but the combo didn't work out so well this time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
this recipe rules!! i was a little nervous at first because i let my apple cinnamon mixture "marinate" overnight so it was a little watery. i dumped it in the pan and just waited. the pie was excellent!!! i will definitely use this again and again. BTW...I used apples that were already sliced in the bag so I used approximately 5 cups and it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Great taste and easy to make :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is very good. Made it for Thanksgiving dinner. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States