Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Love the crust. I use my apple pie filling I can every year and use this crust and topping. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Engles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Love this pie - so easy. Several have mentioned that their crust turned mushy - ours did not - we stored it in the refrigerator, and I also used Gala apples instead of the Golden Delicious. Also doubled (at LEAST) the cinnamon. Our daughter is not typically an apple pie eater, but she LOVED this. I will also try it in a peach version and will definitely make it either way again and again in the years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
A little dry, too much topping. If I made it again, add cranberries to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really like this recipe. I've made it twice and everyone likes it. I like the fact that it doesn't have shortening like a regular pie crust. I prefer to have good old butter. Easy to make too. I used Macintosh apples and they turned out nice. Also want to note that I used way more apples based on previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Some people might think this pie isn't sweet enough, but our family loved it. It was so easy that my 9 year old son was able to do most of the recipe himself. I only had to separate the eggs for him and take it out of the oven. We all agreed that the crust was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this recipe from magazine found some years ago and it was a favorite. Just found my handwritten copy again and the pie's baking now in the oven. The original recipe called for an 8 inch springform pan. My husband loves the filling softer, so I usually precook the apples, as well as use a few more than the recipe calls for. I almost always end up baking it about 10-15 min. longer, as well. (Maybe because it's in a spring form pan?)I, too have problems if the pie sits overnight-it can get a little soggy. Happily, it's such an awesome recipe, that is almost never an issue! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1horseshay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Perfect. I pressed down in the center of the shortbread mix and forced the sides up a bit to create a small well. Other than that, I followed this recipe precisely. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Quick, easy, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I made this for DH and he says - "another keeper"! Made it with no changes! He ate 3 helpings himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loydafr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
i tried this about 5 years ago for a legion dinner for about 60 people have used this recipe ever since and every year i have to re copy it for my son also wont use anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States