Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I fixed this for hubby's potluck to go with the Irish chicken & dumplings recipe here on allrecipes, and I have to say, I had a hard time letting it go out the door! The shortbread is fantastic, and the golden delicious apples are a nice change from my usual granny smiths. Wonderful flavor and aroma, all though the apples were really juicy, and the pie was a bit watery. Maybe tossing the apples with a bit of flour along with the brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg combo would help? Highly recommend for a very simple apple pie, without the hassle of rolling out dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This is a great pie! It went over well with my family. We also liked it because it is not very sugary. I will recommend this one to my friends. -Geri Culwell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Super easy and delicious! A great alternative to traditional apple pies. I added 1/4 cup more brown sugar and changed spices to 3/4 t cinnamon and 1/4 t nutmeg. Took it to work and my co-workers went crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
easy and tastes great...the crust was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very, very good! I would make this again in an instant. I just happened to have all the ingredients, so I threw it together, as easy as--well, easier than--pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
WONDERFUL!!! This could also be called "Peach Shortbread Pie". I made this recipe with about 2 pounds of peaches in a round stoneware pan. I added one-fourth cup more brown sugar and it was superb. My daughter said "why make pie when you can make this"! We all loved it. I baked it for 50 minutes uncovered. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is by far the best apple pie recipe I have found so far. Even my 4 year old who doesn't liek apples LOVED it and ate 2 pieces as soon as she could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! I won't make any other apple pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
A tart? A pie? Whatever it is it's wonderful!I added a bit more flour after to the apples, but I would not do the same next time. Typically the apples would be the star in a dessert like this, but we just loved the shortbread type crust. I may go splurge on a tart pan the next time I make it. Thanks Sera!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This recipe was delicious, much easier than a pie, and was universally enjoyed by all who ate it! The only thing I would change is that there is too much crust/topping and not enough apples in this recipe. I would simply reduce the amount of crust I made next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States