Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is by far the best apple pie recipe I have found so far. Even my 4 year old who doesn't liek apples LOVED it and ate 2 pieces as soon as she could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This is a great pie! It went over well with my family. We also liked it because it is not very sugary. I will recommend this one to my friends. -Geri Culwell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
easy and tastes great...the crust was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! I won't make any other apple pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very, very good! I would make this again in an instant. I just happened to have all the ingredients, so I threw it together, as easy as--well, easier than--pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I fixed this for hubby's potluck to go with the Irish chicken & dumplings recipe here on allrecipes, and I have to say, I had a hard time letting it go out the door! The shortbread is fantastic, and the golden delicious apples are a nice change from my usual granny smiths. Wonderful flavor and aroma, all though the apples were really juicy, and the pie was a bit watery. Maybe tossing the apples with a bit of flour along with the brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg combo would help? Highly recommend for a very simple apple pie, without the hassle of rolling out dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
When we first tasted this pie we rated it as delicious and definately a keeper. By the time we had the second piece, the crumb crust had turned to "mush". Did anyone else have this trouble? Also, the apples were a bit too firm. Perhaps cook them a bit first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
WONDERFUL!!! This could also be called "Peach Shortbread Pie". I made this recipe with about 2 pounds of peaches in a round stoneware pan. I added one-fourth cup more brown sugar and it was superb. My daughter said "why make pie when you can make this"! We all loved it. I baked it for 50 minutes uncovered. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Yum! The shortbread dough seems VERY crumbly however do not worry, it can be patted into place and will bake up fine. I would suggest sprinkling some brown and white sugar over top of the apples if they are tart (e.g. Granny Smith), I used macs and it turned out fine per the recipe. I did not use all the dough; there was a lot left after making a crust and I didn't want to bury the apples. A nice fairly simple, quick apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Super easy and delicious! A great alternative to traditional apple pies. I added 1/4 cup more brown sugar and changed spices to 3/4 t cinnamon and 1/4 t nutmeg. Took it to work and my co-workers went crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States