Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just pulled my "apple sheet cake" out of the oven about an hour ago and already had a piece. It was delicious! The crust is not like your ordinary pie crust - it's more biscuit like (probably because there is baking powder in the crust). I think the crust might be a tad bit better if it had some sugar in it. It's plenty sweet with the apple filling & icing but the edges by themselves are not sweet enough. I made 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry because I suck at rolling out pie dough and I thought that rolling it out to the size of a jelly roll pan would be difficult for me. 1 1/2 recipes turned out to be perfect for me! I had enough dough to really get a nice looking edge to my crust that I could crimp nicely. It prevented any leaks of the filling and did not brown too much. The only small change I made in the recipe is to add one more tablespoon of flour in the filling because I was worried about it being too thin. I cut it when the pie/cake was still very warm and it did not ooze at all. Sliced very nicely. I prepared my filling before I started on my crust and so my filling had a chance to produce alot of juice at the bottom of the bowl which I left in the bowl as I scooped the apples into the crust. I've had so many pies with soggy bottom crusts that I tried hard to prevent it from happening again. I used 3 different kinds of apples and didn't weigh them but used about 7 or 8 medium apples. I sliced them very thinly because 30 minutes in the oven is not a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sohol
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This reminds me of a apple slice pastry I used to buy by the slice from 7-11..when I was a kid, it would be delievered from some bakery in Chicago.. I have made this many of times now everyone always loves it....sometimes i will add rasins(golden rasins) and walnuts....but its great as is too. I double dough recipe and used 12 x 18 sheet pan & had alittle left over dough,but I like having anuff to work with..its a easy dough to work with on a flour dusted table..I use flour to dust and roll the dough...I like it best with granny smith apples, I wash and core them,then just slice them up, with the peel on them..(big time saver)no one ever knows differance...if you use red apples you will have to peel them, otherwise you will have bits of red, not pretty...I also but alittle cinn and brown sugar in the dough...I use this recipe for pot luck dinners, its always a number 1 dessert, ice cream is good on top also. love it. Note if you dont want it watery...use granny smith apple , they hold their juices.....poeple always love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I find this easier than apple pie and it is great for a crowd. I took it to a pot luck and got LOTS of requests for the recipe. I have made this using both butter and shortening for the dough, butter makes a more tender crust. It is a job rolling it out to fit into the pan but the dough is easier to handle than regular piecrust. Definitely a hard to categorize dessert, it's not a "cake", more of a pie in a sheet pan. My husband said "It's like a cross between an apple pie and a danish... but better." I'll be making this one again. The icing's called for amounts frosts the dessert VERY generously, you could get away with half as much (if you wanted to!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
As previously noted this was tough to roll out to the proper thickness and size, but the crust was good. I did doctor up the filling a bit with extra cinnamon, brown sugar and nutmeg. Came out good and it freezes and defrosts well. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was more like a sheet apple pie. It was really very good! I followed what another reviewer said and rolled out the dough between parchment paper. Best idea ever!!! I will now be doing this with any rolled pie or cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
i was very excited about this recipe. i had high hopes, only to be sorely disappointed :( first of all, the "cake" part was more like a pie crust. i don't do pie crust. i added sugar and cin to the crust as did some other reviewers. the filling was lovely, but wasted between a really bad crust. i will ask on the exchange if anyone can figure out what went so wrong with this recipe and maybe give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is not a cake, but a pie, and oh what a pie! I didn't have the 10 X 15 pan, so I used a 9 X 13 cake pan. I did not take time to do the icing, either, and doubled the amount of cinnamon. We all agreed it was wonderful for an early morning coffee. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a kick butt recipe I love it(so does everyone else)! I made it in a 9X13 Baking pan instead, baking time is the same, makes it a little thicker. Added a 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon to the pastry. I'm not sure why everyone else says there is not enough pastry though, I can still make it fit a 10X15 cookie pan. I found that rolling the pastry out on parchment paper worked out well, if you don't roll it out thin enough the pastry is to thick, and didn't make the "frosting". This is definitely apple pie on a bigger scale, you certainly get a lot more pieces, this hasn't lasted long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I was looking for a recipe to get rid of a whole bunch of extra apples I had, so I tried this one out. I used a 4" x 3 1/2" x 4 3/8 depth bread pan instead of the recommended 10 x 15 inch pan. (I'm in Germany, so I had to improvise.) I also added about 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to the filling. I also used butter instead of shortening, which made the cake taste nice and buttery. It turned out great! It tasted like an applely cinnamon roll. It's best eaten warm, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
A wonderful dessert! It was enjoyed by all. Like a few of the previous reviewers I added cinn. & a 1/4 c. sugar to the crust and I'm glad I did. The frosting made it extra special--kind of a cross between an apple pie and a danish. Glad I found this recipe at the start of the apple season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States